Janis Ian The Secret Life Of J. Eddy Fink / Who Really Cares

The Secret Life Of J. Eddy Fink / Who Really Cares
1 rating
Price: $21.59
List Price: $23.99
You Save: $2.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  32HDE
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Bgo - Beat Goes On


  • 1.Everybody Knows
  • 2.Mistaken Identity
  • 3.Friends Again
  • 4.42nd St. Psycho Blues
  • 5.She's Made of Porcelain
  • 6.Sweet Misery
  • 7.When I Was a Child
  • 8.What Do You Think of the Dead?
  • 9.Look to the Rain
  • 10.Son of Love
  • 11.Baby's Blue
  • 12.Time on My Hands
  • 13.Snowbird
  • 14.Love You More Than Yesterday
  • 15.Orphan of the Wind
  • 16.Sea and Sand
  • 17.Galveston
  • 18.Do You Remember?
  • 19.Month of May
  • 20.Calling Your Name

Product Description:

Personnel: Janis Ian (piano); Stu Scharff, Ralph Casale, Hugh McCracken (guitar); Carol Hunter (electric guitar); Manny Green, Aaron Rosand , Julius Schacter, Gene Orloff, Joe Malin (violin); Harold Coletta (viola); George Ricci (cello); Marvin Stamm, Bernie Glow (trumpet); Tony Studd (trombone); Ray Alonge (horns); Dick Hyman (organ); Al Rogers (drums); Richie Havens (conga drum); Joe Price (bongos); Brad Spinney (percussion).
Audio Mixer: Phil Ramone.
Audio Remasterer: Andrew Thompson .
Liner Note Author: John Tobler.
Recording information: Century Sound, New York (1968); Olmstead Studios, New York (1968); Century Sound, New York (1969); Olmstead Studios, New York (1969).
Photographers: Robert Golden; Carl Fischer .
Arrangers: Janis Ian; Carol Hunter; Charles Calello.
Great Britain's BGO imprint always does a stellar job when it comes to reissues. This two-fer reissue of Janis Ian's second and third albums released on Verve/Forecast in 1968 and 1969, respectively, is no exception. Listening to these albums all these years later, it is astonishing to note that Ian was still in her teens when they were released. While neither album charted, both are rich, varied, and convincing. Check the seven-plus minute "Mistaken Identity," from The Secret Life of J. Eddy Fink, produced by Ian and Shadow Morton. With its seamless integration of Ian's pianistic knowledge of hard bop jazz harmony, classic American ballad-book styles, and shifting time signatures; this track is worth the price of admission by itself. Other stellar tracks include the Bob Dylan-influenced "Friends Again," and the fuzzed-out rock of "Sweet Misery." Who Really Cares is even more ambitious. Produced by Charlie Calello, Ian is credited as co-arranger for a studio band full of crack musicians including Dick Hyman, Hugh McCracken, Joe Farrell, Marvin Stamm, and others. Ian plays piano on the set. Listen to the interplay with vibraphonist David Freidman on "Orphan of the Wind"; it swings hard but never loses its groove. Check the driving souled-out rock of "Sea and Sand," the bluesy country-rocker "Time on My Hands," and "Love You More Than Yesterday," with her scat singing fronting a full R&B horn section. Both records hold up beautifully. This two-fer on a single disc, is well worth seeking out for Ian fans, since this release marks the first appearance of these albums on CD. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Janis Ian

Product Info

  • UPC: 5017261209108
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)