Simon & Garfunkel Live 1969

Live 1969
24 ratings
Price: $7.19
List Price: $7.99
You Save: $0.80 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  JCS2
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Sony Legacy

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.69
3.5 stars out of 5 -- "The audiences gathered for these sets were hearing 'Bridge Over Troubled Water' for the first time, and their amazement at its beauty is palpable."
Dirty Linen - p.77
"LIVE 1969 captures the duo at its peak....[The recording allows] Simon's poetic lyricism and acoustic mastery and Garfunkel's angelic harmonies to be heard as they were intended to be."
Pitchfork (Website) - "For all their politeness, they still took risks, still tried to innovate, as this document of their short 1969 tour proves....Part of the pleasure of listening to LIVE 1969 is hearing early versions of 'Why Don't You Write Me' and 'Song for the Asking' and imagining what it would have been like to hear them with fresh ears..."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.96
5 stars out of 5 -- "There are the expected hits....Happily, the pair are also in a conversational mood, adding to the overall warmth of an engaging performance."


  • 1.Homeward Bound
  • 2.At the Zoo
  • 3.59th Street Bridge Song, The (Feelin' Groovy)
  • 4.Song For the Asking
  • 5.For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her
  • 6.Scarborough Fair / Canticle
  • 7.Mrs. Robinson (From the Motion Picture 'the Graduate')
  • 8.The Boxer
  • 9.Why Don't You Write Me
  • 10.So Long, Frank Lloyd Wright
  • 11.That Silver-Haired Daddy of Mine
  • 12.Bridge Over Troubled Water
  • 13.The Sound of Silence
  • 14.I Am a Rock
  • 15.Old Friends / Bookends Theme
  • 16.Leaves That Are Green
  • 17.Kathy's Song

Product Description:

Personnel: Paul Simon (vocals, guitar); Art Garfunkel (vocals); Fred Carter, Jr. (guitar); Larry Knechtel (keyboards); Joe Osborn (bass guitar); Hal Blaine (drums).
For folk legends Simon & Garfunkel, 1969 was both a peak year and the beginning of the end. They had achieved most of their hits and were about to record their classic final album at the time of this recording, which took place on a lucrative six-city U.S. tour. While other celebrated live albums by the duo have been released, and this tour in particular produced many bootlegs, this is the first official live concert album of that period, and is invaluable to fans. The duo's singing is stellar and the musical rapport is strong here, with no indication of the rupture that would take place soon after. Listeners will be amused by references to "new songs" like "Bridge Over Troubled Waters."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 24 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Simon & Garfunkel

Product Info

  • UPC: 886974130628
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)