Rachel Unthank & The Winterset The Bairns

The Bairns
19% OFF
Rating 5.0
2 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
List Price: $13.98
Sale Price: $12.58
CYBER SALE: $11.32 Limited Time Only
You Save: $2.66 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  RLWL 158
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
We cannot guarantee delivery in time for Christmas
But it's not too late for a Gift Card or an e-mail Gift Certificate

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Real World


  • Buy for $0.991.Felton Lonnin - (with The Winterset)
  • Buy for $0.992.Lull I - (with The Winterset)
  • Buy for $0.993.Blue Bleezing Blind Drunk - (with The Winterset)
  • Buy for $0.994.I Wish - (with The Winterset)
  • Buy for $0.995.Blue's Gaen Oot O'The Fashion - (with The Winterset)
  • Buy for $0.996.Lull II : My Lad's A Canny Lad - (with The Winterset)
  • Buy for $0.997.Blackbird - (with The Winterset)
  • Buy for $0.998.Lull III: A Minor Place - (with The Winterset)
  • Buy for $0.999.Sea Song - (with The Winterset)
  • Buy for $0.9910.Whitethorn - (with The Winterset)
  • Buy for $0.9911.Lull IV: Can't Stop It Raining - (with The Winterset)
  • Buy for $0.9912.My Donald - (with The Winterset)
  • Buy for $0.9913.Ma Bonny Lad - (with The Winterset)
  • Buy for $0.9914.Farewell Regality - (with The Winterset)
  • Buy for $0.9915.Newcastle Lullaby - (with The Winterset)

Product Description:

Personnel: Rachel Unthank (vocals, ukulele, cello); Niopha Keegan (vocals, fiddle); Becky Unthank (vocals); Iona Brown (violin); Julian Sutton (melodion).
Recording information: 01/2007-03/2007.
Arranger: Rachel Unthank & the Winterset.
With their sophomore effort, THE BAIRNS, Mercury Prize nominees Rachel Unthank & the Winterset deliver an intense, alternately brooding and joyous collection of folk music that's both contemporary and steeped in Celtic tradition. Vocalist/cellist Rachel shares the lead singing duties with her sister Becky, which allows the duo to produce a sound that's by turns as angry as Sinead O'Connor and as smoky as Norah Jones. Accompanied by Irish fiddler Niopha Keegan and the eclectic piano work of Belinda O'Hooley, the group matches ancient-sounding songs about abuse, drinking, and leaving with a Brit pop-esque sense of space and grandeur.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:

Product Info:

  • UPC: 884108015827
  • Shipping Weight: 0.15/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: