Rene & Angela Classic Masters (Remastered)

Classic Masters (Remastered)
14 ratings
Price: $5.38
List Price: $5.98
You Save: $0.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  32J3K
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: EMI Special Products


  • 1.Do You Really Love Me
  • 2.Everything We Do
  • 3.Turn It Out
  • 4.Strangers Again
  • 5.I Love You More
  • 6.Wall To Wall
  • 7.Secret Rendezvous
  • 8.Imaginary Playmates
  • 9.Bangin' The Boogie
  • 10.My First Love
  • 11.Can't Give You Up
  • 12.Keep Runnin'

Product Description:

Recorded between 1980 & 1983. Includes liner notes by A. Scott Galloway.
Digitally remastered using 24-bit technology by Robert Vosgien (Capitol Mastering).
This is part of Capitol's Classic Masters series.
The 1980s R&B duo Ren‚ & Angela had the kind of recording career that makes life difficult for the compilers of anthologies. Initially signed to Capitol Records (the catalog of which is controlled by the major label EMI), they released three albums, Ren‚ & Angela (1980), Wall to Wall (1981), and Rise (1983), which produced a stream of singles, seven of which reached the R&B charts, but only one, 1983's "My First Love," hit the Top Ten. Then they moved to Mercury Records (the catalog of which is controlled by the major label Universal), where they broke through to mass success with the gold-selling album Street Called Desire, which spawned five R&B chart entries, four of which hit the Top Five with two reaching number one. Shortly after, they broke up. The two major labels have never cooperated on a Ren‚ & Angela best-of, so there is no single-disc compilation of their most popular recordings. This discount-priced album, part of a Capitol Records series of identically titled releases, doesn't change anything. Among its 12 selections, it contains the duo's nine Capitol singles, plus three album tracks, in more or less chronological order. Ten of these tracks turned up on Capitol's full-priced, 14-track 1996 best-of (the exceptions being the non-chart singles "Can't Give You Up" and "Keep Runnin'"). You can't accuse Capitol of deliberate deception, since there is a track listing on the back cover. But consumers don't keep as close track of what labels performers record for as the labels themselves do, and lacking some sort of disclaimer, it still will be easy for people to be fooled. Indeed, Capitol must be counting on it. Otherwise, why put out a compilation (make that two) on an act that had only one Top Ten hit on the label? ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 14 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 724353729929
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)