The Flirtations Sounds Like the Flirtations

Sounds Like the Flirtations
4 ratings
Only 7 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $19.74 Limited Time Only
List Price: $22.99
You Save: $3.25 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  J5J2
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: October 6, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: RPM-RETRO

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.81
5 stars out of 5 -- "Almost every number is ridiculously catchy, whether it's the beat ballad 'Can't Stop Loving You,' the Motownish 'End Of The Line' or the gentle hip-jiggler 'Stay.'"


  • 1.Nothing But a Heartache
  • 2.This Must Be the End of the Line
  • 3.I Wanna Be There
  • 4.Stay
  • 5.How Can You Tell Me?
  • 6.Someone out There
  • 7.Need Your Loving
  • 8.South Carolina
  • 9.Once I Had a Love
  • 10.Momma I'm Coming Home
  • 11.Love Is a Sad Song
  • 12.What's Good About Goodbye My Love
  • 13.Christmas Time Is Here Again
  • 14.Keep on Searching
  • 15.Everybody Needs Somebody (To Love in the End)
  • 16.Can't Stop Loving You
  • 17.Give Me Love

Product Description:

Liner Note Authors: Brian Gibson; Michael Robson.
Although they never recorded for Motown Records, the Flirtations should have, because they sounded like nothing so much as a more energetic version of the Supremes, and by all rights, this exciting vocal trio should have been continually at the top of the pop charts during the late 1960s and early 1970s. They did have a big hit with 1969's "Nothing But a Heartache," a record that has had an enduring shelf life and actually might be better known now in the 21st century than it was 40-some years ago. An American singing trio who relocated to the U.K. in 1967, the Flirtations recorded an album, Sounds Like the Flirtations, and several singles for the Decca imprint Deram Records before leaving for Polydor Records in 1972. This set collects the Deram album and adds in four additional tracks from the same time period to make an ideal introduction to this fun group. Among the gems here are the undeniably classic "Nothing But a Heartache," the bursting-with-energy "Need Your Loving," the autobiographical "South Carolina" and the why-wasn't-this-a-hit "What's Good About Goodbye My Love," but everything here falls into the same groove, with upbeat arrangements, spirited singing and insistent, racing and almost unhinged horn arrangements. It's fun stuff, and fans of Motown and Northern Soul are going to love this reissue release. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Flirtations

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 59,469
  • UPC: 5013929598393
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)