Rah Band The Crunch and Beyond

The Crunch and Beyond
Sale: $24.29
SUPER SAVINGS: $17.08 Limited Time Only
You Save: $7.21 (30% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  34S6F
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Repeat Records


  • 1.The Crunch
  • 2.Electric Fling
  • 3.Concrete
  • 4.Is Anybody There?
  • 5.Beyond
  • 6.Space Race
  • 7.Turkey Roll
  • 8.Vampire Vamp
  • 9.Woogie Boogie
  • 10.Crunch, The (Reprise)
  • 11.Jiggery Pokkery
  • 12.Porridge

Product Description:

Personnel: Richard Hewson (guitar, keyboards, synthesizer); Peter King (saxophone); Barry DeSouza (drums); Tony Carr (percussion).
Audio Remasterer: Nick Robbins.
Liner Note Author: Philip King.
Photographer: Brian David Stevens.
Though he had the help of a few musicians, the Rah Band's first album was pretty much the project of multi-instrumentalist Richard Hewson, most famous as an arranger of noted recordings on the Apple label by the Beatles, James Taylor, and Mary Hopkin. In a limited sense, The Crunch & Beyond was ahead of its time, presenting instrumentals with dance rhythms centered around synthesizers. But while the title track got to number six in the U.K. (and was also a hit in several other countries, though not the U.S.), in other ways, the record sounds horribly dated at a few decades' remove. Much of the album presents basic early synth-pop riffs set to elementary dance rhythms, and these are often unmemorably cheesy, sometimes sounding like backing tracks that are missing the vocalist. Jazz fusion and disco influences criss-cross, as well as a slight layer of the kind of novelty associated with earlier electronic-based instrumentals done in hopes of cracking the pop market by the likes of Jean-Jacques Perrey. Some traces of reggae and dub (and, in "Woogie Boogie," rockabilly) are found in some of the more creative tracks, and this is a more serious and artistic endeavor than those by artists such as Perrey. Still, the material's not too substantial, and indeed enervating over in full-album dosage. [Cherry Red's 2006 edition included three bonus tracks.] ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 5013929580121
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)