Ike Quebec The Complete Blue Note 45 Sessions (2-CD)

The Complete Blue Note 45 Sessions (2-CD)
5 ratings
Price: $24.28
List Price: $26.98
You Save: $2.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  339SH
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Blue Note Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Light Reprieve
  • 2.Buzzard Lope
  • 3.Blue Monday
  • 4.Zonky
  • 5.Later For The Rock
  • 6.Sweet And Lovely
  • 7.Dear John
  • 8.Blue Friday
  • 9.Everything Happens To Me [Short Version]
  • 10.Mardi Gras
  • 11.What A Diff'rence A Day Makes
  • 12.For All We Know
  • 13.Ill Wind

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.If I Could Be With You
  • 2.I've Got The World On A String
  • 3.Me 'N' Mabe
  • 4.Everything Happens To Me [Long Version]
  • 5.All Of Me
  • 6.Intermezzo
  • 7.But Not For Me
  • 8.All The Way
  • 9.How Long Has This Been Going On
  • 10.With A Song In My Heart
  • 11.Imagination
  • 12.What Is There To Say
  • 13.There Is No Greater Love

Product Description:

Personnel: Ike Quebec (tenor saxophone); Ike Quebec; Willie Jones , Willie Jones (guitar); Sonny Wellesley, Milt Hinton, Sam Jones (double bass); Skeeter Best (guitar); Edwin Swanston, Earl Van Dyke, Sir Charles Thompson (organ); J.C. Heard, Les Jenkins, Wilbert G.T. Hogan (drums).
Liner Note Author: Bob Porter.
Recording information: Englewood Cliffs, NJ (07/01/1959-02/13/1962); Van Gelder Studios, Hackensack, NJ (07/01/1959-02/13/1962).
Ike Quebec, a tenor saxophonist who bridged the swing, bop, and post-bop eras, is an often overlooked figure, which is a shame considering the range of his sound and the infallible charm of his execution. Quebec had a fruitful tenure at Blue Note between 1959 and 1963, and all of the sides he recorded for that label are featured on THE COMPLETE BLUE NOTE 45 SESSIONS spread out over two discs and arranged chronologically. Here Quebec tackles both standards and a host of surprisingly solid originals.
A traditionalist of sorts, Quebec has none of the mercurial, experimental style that was creeping into the vocabulary of many saxophonists of the era. Instead, Quebec's playing recalls the smooth, robust sound of Coleman Hawkins, and like his stylistic forebear he excels at both lush, lyrical balladry and up-tempo tunes with plenty of swing. With its fine packaging and even better sound, 45 SESSIONS is a definitive representation of this excellent sax man.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Ike Quebec

Product Info

  • UPC: 094631144127
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)