Isaac Hayes Ultimate Isaac Hayes: Can You Dig It? (2-CD+DVD)

Ultimate Isaac Hayes: Can You Dig It? (2-CD+DVD)
17 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Sale: $18.88
SUPER SAVINGS: $17.73 Limited Time Only
List Price: $20.98
You Save: $3.25 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  J5HC
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Stax

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - No. 986, p.99
3.5 out of 5 stars - "...Hayes mixes funk blasts, languid ballads, unreleased live performances, major hits, chart flops..."
Uncut - p.109
5 stars out of 5 -- "The big man really did redefine black music's sonic possibilities, making lust cinematic."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Theme From "Shaft"
  • Buy for $0.992.Precious, Precious
  • Buy for $1.293.Hyperbolicsyllabicsesquedalymistic
  • Buy for $1.294.Ain't That Loving You (For More Reasons Than One)
  • Buy for $1.295.Never Can Say Goodbye
  • Buy for $1.296.By The Time I Get To Phoenix
  • Buy for $1.297.Soulsville
  • Buy for $1.298.Wonderful
  • Buy for $1.299.Help Me Love
  • Buy for $1.2910.Need To Belong To Someone
  • Buy for $1.2911.Good Love
  • Buy for $1.2912.The Look Of Love
  • Buy for $1.2913.Do Your Thing
  • Buy for $1.2914.For The Good Times
  • 15.I Stand Accused

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Walk On By
  • Buy for $1.292.Joy (Part 1)
  • Buy for $1.293.His Eye Is On The Sparrow
  • Buy for $1.294.Brand New Me
  • Buy for $1.295.If Loving You Is Wrong (I Don't Want To Be Right)
  • Buy for $0.996.Someone Made You For Me
  • Buy for $0.997.Baby I'm-A Want You
  • Buy for $1.298.Let's Stay Together
  • Buy for $0.999.Theme From "The Men"
  • Buy for $0.9910.I Can't Help It (If I'm Still In Love With You)
  • Buy for $1.2911.Title Theme From "Three Tough Guys"
  • Buy for $1.2912.Run Fay Run
  • Buy for $1.2913.Chocolate Chip
  • Buy for $1.2914.Come Live With Me
  • Buy for $1.2915.Disco Connection
  • Buy for $0.9916.Rock Me Easy Baby (Part 1)
  • Buy for $1.2917.Medley: By The Time I Get To Phoenix / I Say A Little Prayer

Product Description:

Isaac Hayes's towering presence in the history of soul music is undeniable: aside from his role as one half of the legendary Porter/Hayes Stax Records songwriting team, his early-1970s albums revolutionized the sounds of the day with their lush, complex instrumentation, swirling, funky explorations, and extended track lengths. The title of this three-disc set, THE ULTIMATE ISAAC HAYES, pretty much says it all. Represented here are all of Hayes's signature tunes, including the wah-wah-driven, era-defining "Theme from SHAFT" and the spacious, symphonic "Walk On By."
The two audio discs top out at close to 80 minutes each, giving full breadth to the artist's stylistic range and the stretched-out majesty of his arrangements. His transformative covers of Glen Campbell's "By the Time I Get to Phoenix," Jerry Butler's "I Stand Accused," and Hank Williams's "I Can't Help It (If I'm Still in Love With You)" are included, alongside rare singles, B-sides, and previously unreleased live cuts. The third disc is a DVD featuring live footage of Hayes's appearance at the 1972 Wattstax concert and footage from SOUTH PARK (on which Hayes supplied the voice of Chef). All this, plus excellent notes, photos, superbly remastered sound, and beautiful packaging, make this an essential addition to any library.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 17 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Isaac Hayes

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 28,028
  • UPC: 025218884327
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)