An Apple a Day: More Pop Psych Sounds from the Apple Era 1968-1970
by Various Artists

An Apple a Day: More Pop Psych Sounds from the
2 ratings
Price: $20.69
List Price: $22.99
You Save: $2.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  J5H8
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 27, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Rpm Records Uk


  • 1.Apple a Day, An - U (Don't) No Who (previously unreleased)
  • 2.Great Idea - Jigsaw
  • 3.Ivy Unrehearsed - Gallagher & Lyle (previously unreleased)
  • 4.I Am Nearly There - Denis Couldry
  • 5.Black & White Rainbows - The Iveys (previously unreleased)
  • 6.Girl in a Mini Skirt - The Iveys (previously unreleased)
  • 7.Soldier - Lace (previously unreleased)
  • 8.Technicolour Dream - Gallagher & Lyle (previously unreleased)
  • 9.In Your Wonderful Way - Gallagher & Lyle (previously unreleased)
  • 10.People Who Are Different - Mortimer (previously unreleased)
  • 11.Tomorrow Today - The Iveys (previously unreleased)
  • 12.James in the Basement - Denis Couldry
  • 13.Strange People - U (Don't) No Who (previously unreleased)
  • 14.Charlotte Rose - Majority One
  • 15.Somebody's Turning on the People - Goldrush
  • 16.Fairytale - Second Hand
  • 17.Sister Saxophone - Turquoise (previously unreleased)
  • 18.Now and Again Rebecca - U (Don't) No Who (previously unreleased)
  • 19.Mr. Strangeways - The Iveys (previously unreleased)
  • 20.Good as Gold - The Cups
  • 21.Woodstock - Turquoise (previously unreleased)
  • 22.Evil Loving Woman - Peter Cooper (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Stefan Granados.
Recording information: 1967-1969.
When the Beatles launched Apple Records in 1967, they were determined to make it a bone fide record label and not just a vanity imprint, and while their lack of business acumen quickly became apparent, they had learned one important lesson since starting out -- publishing is where the money is in the music biz, and they were determined not to miss out on it. With this in mind, they set up Apple Publishing along with the record company, and signed songwriters as well as performing artists; An Apple a Day is RPM's second collection of music from Apple's contract songwriters. There are a few recognizable names here, most notably the Iveys (who would soon evolve into Badfinger) and Gallagher & Lyle (who would go on to a long career as a duo after a stint in McGuinness Flint and backing Ronnie Lane), but nothing here was a hit and outside of the Iveys none of the artists here actually recorded for Apple. Still, the Fab Four and their associates certainly knew talent when they heard it, and there's some marvelous U.K. psychedelic pop featured here. Many of the cuts sound like simple publishing demos, while the tracks from the Iveys, the U (Don't) No Who, and Denis Couldry have a good bit more production polish (through only seven of these 22 saw release prior to this collection). While there isn't much here that would qualify as a lost classic, these songs are marvelously evocative of their time and place, and there are some true gems -- the Iveys' cuts display a harder, mod-style edge missing from their later releases, "Fairytale" by Second Hand and "Somebody's Turning on the People" from Goldrush are entertaining lysergic pastiches, Mortimer's "People Who Are Different" is an epic-scale bit of folk-rock that suggests John Barleycorn Must Die-era Traffic a year early, and Gallagher & Lyle's demos rank with the best of their later "official" releases. Even the relatively "commercial" stuff here is quite charming, especially "Sister Saxophone" by Turquoise (which could pass for a trippy version of the New Vaudeville Band) and "Great Idea" from Jigsaw. An Apple a Day is of minimal interest to listeners who don't already have a passionate interest in British pop arcana, but pop-psych obsessives will be delighted by these scraps from the Apple empire's brief heyday. ~ Mark Deming

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 5013929531222
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)