Madeline Bell Bell's a Poppin'

Bell's a Poppin'
2 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  J5GW
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: July 19, 2004
  • Label: Rpm Records UK


  • 1.Picture Me Gone
  • 2.You Don't Love Me No More
  • 3.Baby I'll Come Right Away
  • 4.Beat the Clock
  • 5.Mr. Dream Merchant
  • 6.Can't Get Used to Losing You
  • 7.Soul Time
  • 8.I'm Gonna Make You Love Me
  • 9.I'm Gonna Leave You
  • 10.The Last One to Be Loved
  • 11.I Didn't Want to Have to Do It
  • 12.Mercy Mercy Mercy
  • 13.What the World Needs Now Is Love
  • 14.I Can't Wait Until I See My Baby's Face
  • 15.Don't Come Running to Me
  • 16.I Really Got Carried Away
  • 17.One Step at a Time
  • 18.You Won't See Me
  • 19.Climb Ev'ry Mountain
  • 20.It Makes No Difference Now

Product Description:

This Madeline Bell album contains 20 tracks including "Beat The Clock," "I'm Gonna Leave You," and "Last One To Be Loved."
Liner Note Author: Alec Palao.
Though born in New Jersey, smooth soul diva Madeline Bell enjoyed her greatest success in the United Kingdom (where she began living in 1963), and her first album, 1967's Bell's a Poppin', is a thoroughly enjoyable example of British pop record-making at its most poised and professional. Bell had a world-class voice and sang supper-club soul in the manner of Dionne Warwick and Dusty Springfield (the latter of whom was a friend of Bell's and often used her as a backing vocalist); those looking for Southern soul grit will be disappointed, but Bell's a Poppin' is a marvelous example of the British equivalent of Brill Building pop. The arrangements are clever and sophisticated, the musicians are spot-on throughout, producer John Franz adds just the right amount of polish without rubbing away the personality of the music, and Bell's vocals tell a story just beautifully, boasting smarts and understated passion while maintaining a firm sense of control and balance throughout. Franz also rounded up some great songs for Bell, with Doc Pomus & Mort Shuman, Burt Bacharach & Hal David, John Sebastian, and Nick Ashford & Valerie Simpson among the tunesmiths represented on this disc. Fans of the slicker side of Northern soul and great mid-'60s pop-soul will delight in Bell's a Poppin'. [RPM's 2004 reissue adds a handful of non-LP singles that are every bit as enjoyable, especially "Don't Come Running to Me" and an interesting cover of the Beatles' "You Won't See Me."] ~ Mark Deming

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 5013929528123
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)