Joe Simon Monument of Soul

Monument of Soul
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  J5GC
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Rpm Records UK

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 8/01, p.158
3 stars out of 5 - "...Blessed by his gilded baritone, these 26 tracks offer some prime country-soul moments..."


  • 1.Misty Blue
  • 2.Long Hot Summer
  • 3.Teenager's Prayer
  • 4.Too Many Teardrops
  • 5.My Special Prayer
  • 6.Travellin' Man
  • 7.Just a Dream
  • 8.Put Your Trust in Me
  • 9.Nine Pound Steel
  • 10.The Girl's Alright with Me
  • 11.No Sad Songs
  • 12.Come on and Get It
  • 13.You Keep Me Hangin' On
  • 14.Message from Maria
  • 15.I Worry About You
  • 16.Looking Back
  • 17.Standing in the Safety Zone
  • 18.The Chokin' Kind
  • 19.Don't Let Me Lose the Feeling
  • 20.Baby Don't Be Looking in My Mind
  • 21.San Francisco Is a Lonely Town
  • 22.It's Hard to Get Along
  • 23.Moon Walk, Pts. 1 & 2
  • 24.Farther on Down the Road
  • 25.Yours Love
  • 26.That's the Way I Want Our Love

Product Description:

Recorded between 1966 and 1972.
Liner Note Author: Clive Richardson .
Photographer: Clive Richardson .
Monument of Soul is a comprehensive collection of Joe Simon's 1966-1972 releases on the Sound Stage 7 label, including nearly everything that he put out on singles through the company during that period. Among them are all of his R&B and pop chart hits on Sound Stage 7, which in Simon's case were quite numerous -- 16 in all, even if just a couple of them ("The Chokin' Kind" and "You Keep Me Hanging On") got into the Top 40. Simon's Sound Stage 7 period is underrepresented by the singer's best career retrospective, Rhino's Music in My Bones: The Best of Joe Simon, so this is a welcome in-depth view of the earlier era. And, for listeners who prefer his Nashville soul stint to his slicker Philly soul and disco productions of the '70s, this will probably be the Simon CD they'll want most. Simon was not quite on the Hall of Fame level of soul singers, but he was on the next level down, and he pretty consistently delivered the goods, even on B-sides, of which there are quite a few on this disc. He was better on the countrified ballads than he was on the mid-tempo chuggers, both because these suited his style better, and because such material stood in bolder relief when juxtaposed with much late-'60s soul. "I Worry About You" and "San Francisco Is a Lonely Town" are two of the overlooked slow-burners on this anthology, though some relatively unknown up-tempo belters are worthy of attention too, like "Travellin' Man." ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Joe Simon

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 92,993
  • UPC: 5013929522220
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)