Roy Hamilton Don't Let Go [Shout!]

Don't Let Go [Shout!]
5 ratings
Price: $23.38
List Price: $25.98
You Save: $2.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  372WS
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Shout


  • 1.Don't Let Go
  • 2.You Can Have Her
  • 3.Unchained Melody
  • 4.Ebb Tide
  • 5.You'll Never Walk Alone
  • 6.I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Cry (Over You)
  • 7.Hurt
  • 8.Forgive This Fool
  • 9.Golden Boy
  • 10.Earthbound
  • 11.Crazy Feelin'
  • 12.Jungle Fever
  • 13.Never Let Me Go
  • 14.Abide with Me
  • 15.On My Way Back Home
  • 16.That's All Right
  • 17.I'll Take Care of You
  • 18.Blowtop Blues
  • 19.I'm Gonna Move to the Outskirts of Town
  • 20.Before It's Too Late
  • 21.I'll Come Running Back to You
  • 22.Mr. Rock and Soul
  • 23.I'll Live True to You
  • 24.I Need Your Lovin'
  • 25.Dreams Oh Dreams
  • 26.I'll Never Be Free

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Clive Richardson .
The aim of this 26-track compilation of material Roy Hamilton cut for Epic between the mid-'50s and early '60s was, according to Clive Richardson's liner notes, to choose "tracks which mainly sit comfortably within the R&B genre." That it does, but as Don't Let Go includes his biggest hits -- not just the pop smashes "Don't Let Go," "You Can Have Her," and "Unchained Melody," but also the Top Ten R&B singles "Ebb Tide," "You'll Never Walk Alone," "I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Cry (Over You)," "Hurt," and "Forgive This Fool" -- it also serves as a quite respectable, extensive best-of anthology. Frankly, some of this is far more in the melodramatic pop ballad camp than the R&B one, particularly the aforementioned "Ebb Tide," "You'll Never Walk Alone," and "Hurt," although all of those tracks are strong performances. But a lot of it is R&B-informed, proving Hamilton to be one of the very first singers of note to cross R&B-indebted styles over to mainstream pop without getting whitewashed. While the hits (particularly the gospel-inflected, up-tempo "Don't Let Go" and "You Can Have Her") might be the most memorable tunes, there are a lot of good cuts here, including "I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Cry (Over You)," famously covered a bit later by Elvis Presley (and then, in 1963 on the BBC, by the Beatles); the rollicking, just slightly sinister pop/rock-R&B of "Crazy Feelin'" and "Jungle Fever"; a few other numbers where his gospel roots show, like "That's All Right" (which sounds a bit like a more pop-oriented slant on the mid-'50s Ray Charles' sound); and the loungey blues-soul of "I'll Take Care of You," "Blowtop Blues," and "I'm Gonna Move to the Outskirts of Town." Certainly the music on this disc helped pave the way for the likes of Brook Benton and (more indirectly) Sam Cooke to make inroads into the pop audience, and overall it's a fine document of a singer whose skill and influence have been generally underestimated. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Roy Hamilton

Product Info

  • UPC: 5013929502727
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)