Joan Baez Gone from Danger [Collector's Edition] (2-CD)

Gone from Danger [Collector's Edition] (2-CD)
16 ratings
Only 4 copies left
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  J59V
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Razor & Tie

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.78
4 stars out of 5 -- "[O]n GONE FROM DANGER, Baez once again proved she has impeccable taste."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.No Mermaid
  • 2.Reunion Hill
  • 3.Crack In the Mirror
  • 4.February
  • 5.Fishing
  • 6.If I Wrote You
  • 7.Lily
  • 8.Who Do You Think I Am
  • 9.Mercy Bound
  • 10.Money For Floods

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.If I Wrote You - (live)
  • 2.No Mermaid - (live)
  • 3.Reunion Hill - (live)
  • 4.Crack In the Mirror - (live)
  • 5.Long Bed From Kenya - (live)
  • 6.February - (live)
  • 7.You're Aging Well - (live)
  • 8.Fishing - (live)
  • 9.Money For Floods - (live)
  • 10.Who Do You Think I Am - (live)
  • 11.To Ramona - (live)

Product Description:

Personnel: Joan Baez (vocals, percussion); Dar Williams (vocals); Kenny Greenberg (acoustic, electric & baritone guitars, dobro, percussion); Dan Dugmore (acoustic, electric & pedal steel guitars, dobro); Richard Bennett (acoustic & electric guitars, bazouki); Joe Spivey (mandolin, fiddle); Steve Conn (accordion); Dennis Burnside (piano, Wurlitzer piano); Jim Hoke (saxophone); Matt Rollings (piano, organ); Wally Wilson (piano, percussion); Tim Lauer (harmonium, keyboards); Steve Nathan (keyboards); Willie Weeks, Michael Rhodes (bass); Greg Morrow, Chad Cromwell (drums, percussion); Eric Darken (percussion); Allison Moorer, Curtis Young, Marabeth Jordan, Sharon Rice, Sam Wilson, Ellie Wilson, Jim Collins (background vocals).
Recorded at MCA Music Studios, Nashville, Tennessee and The Sound Kitchen, Franklin, Tennessee.
Personnel: Joan Baez (vocals, guitar, percussion, background vocals); Dar Williams (vocals, guitar, background vocals); Richard Shindell, Sin‚ad Lohan, Betty Elders (vocals, guitar); Carol Steele (vocals, percussion); Kenny Greenberg (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, baritone guitar, dobro, percussion); Dan Dugmore (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, lap steel guitar, dobro); Richard Rodney Bennett (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Joe Spivey (mandolin, fiddle); Gene Elders (fiddle); Steve Conn (accordion); Jim Hoke (saxophone); Matt Rollings (piano, organ); Dennis Bernside (piano, Wurlitzer organ); Wally Wilson (piano, percussion); Tim Lauer (harmonium); Timothy J. Lauer, Steve Nathan (keyboards); Greg Morrow, Chad Cromwell (drums, percussion); Eric Darken (percussion); Curtis Young, Marabeth Jordan, Allison Moorer (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Richard Dodd.
Liner Note Author: Arthur Levy .
Recording information: MCA Music Studios, Nashville, TN; Quad Studios, Nashville, TN; SOund Kitchen, Franklin, TN.
Editors: Van O'Dell; Mark Lambert.
Photographer: Dana Tynan.
Folk legend Joan Baez offers her most successful album in years with this collection of warm, spirited interpretations of songs by five talented (although not widely known) young songwriters. Baez's voice is at its richest here, lending her maturity and experience to literate and heartfelt songs like Dar Williams' stark portrait of loss, "February," and Sinead Loban's "No Mermaid," a quietly triumphant celebration of personal freedom.
GONE FROM DANGER illustrates Baez's admirable talent for recognizing the best, most innovative songwriters and bringing them to the attention of a wider audience. The big news is the mainstream arrival of superlative songwriter/cult hero Richard Shindell, who's recorded several albums of trenchant, poetic songs and is championed here by Baez. She offers her interpretations of his "Reunion Hill," "Fishing" and "Money For Floods," and one is reminded of the way Judy Collins' genteel cover versions brought a young Leonard Cohen into suburban dens and college dorms everywhere.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 16 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Joan Baez

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 63,832
  • UPC: 793018302722
  • Shipping Weight: 0.30/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)