Philamore Lincoln The North Wind Blew South

The North Wind Blew South
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  32JEJ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: February 15, 2010
  • Label: Grapefruit


  • 1.The North Wind Blew South
  • 2.You're The One
  • 3.Lazy Good For Nothin'
  • 4.Early Sherwood
  • 5.Rainy Day
  • 6.Temma Harbour
  • 7.The Plains of Delight
  • 8.The County Jail Band
  • 9.When You Were Looking My Way
  • 10.Blew Through

Product Description:

Philamore Lincoln has always been something of a shadowy figure in the psych pop universe, even among hardcore collectors. His lone album, originally released by Epic in 1970, never saw a legitimate CD reissue until 2010, and he seemed to have been swallowed up by the earth shortly after its initial unveiling. Helping to make the legend more tantalizing over the years were the rumors of Yardbirds members' involvement, partly spurred by Yardbirds bassist Chris Dreja's photo credit, but as it turns out, Jimmy Page did indeed add some guitar to the sessions. Given its release date, The North Wind Blew South sounds like it could have been sitting on the shelf for a couple of years, as the wispy, Donovan-like psych pop that takes up much of the album feels more like 1968 than 1970. The album is heavily front-loaded, opening with the dreamy but majestic title track before moving into the bouncy, orchestral psych pop of "You're the One" (with some tasty Page licks) and the good-timey, Small Faces-like "Lazy Good for Nothin'." Despite the anomalous greasy rocker "County Jail Band," North Wind stays largely on the soft side of psych pop, with "Early Sherwood" sounding like a Sunshine Superman outtake and "Temma Harbour" (later a British hit for Mary Hopkin) even dipping into a mellow bossa nova feel. The album ends on a curious note with the somewhat throwaway-sounding brassy blues instrumental "Blew Through," but overall, Lincoln's gentle vocals and breezy delivery perfectly suit his songwriting (he penned every tune here himself) and producer James Wilder finds just the right arrangement for each track, making this a bit of a lost classic of the U.K. soft-psych world. ~ J. Allen

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 5013929181120
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)