Jimmy Smith Retrospective (4-CD)

Retrospective (4-CD)
7 ratings
Price: $53.98
List Price: $59.98
You Save: $6 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  KH68
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Blue Note Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.You Get 'Cha
  • 2.The Preacher
  • 3.The Champ
  • 4.Bayou
  • 5.Judo Mambo
  • 6.Willow Weep For Me
  • 7.Fiddlin' The Minors
  • 8.Well, You Needn't
  • 9.Get Happy
  • 10.Groovy Date

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Yardbird Suite
  • 2.Summertime
  • 3.All Day Long
  • 4.The Duel
  • 5.I Can't Get Started
  • 6.Body And Soul
  • 7.Slightly Monkish
  • 8.Blues After All
  • 9.'Round Midnight

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.The Sermon
  • 2.Flamingo
  • 3.Hackensack
  • 4.I Got A Woman
  • 5.See See Rider
  • 6.When Johnny Comes Marching Home
  • 7.Sista Rebecca
  • 8.Old Folks

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Back At The Chicken Shack
  • 2.Minor Chant
  • 3.Midnight Special
  • 4.The Jumpin' Blues
  • 5.Squeeze Me
  • 6.Ain't No Use
  • 7.Pork Chop
  • 8.Can Heat
  • 9.Come Rain Or Shine
  • 10.Prayert Meetin'
  • 11.Fungii Mama

Product Description:

Personnel: Jimmy Smith (organ); Jimmy Smith (Hammond b-3 organ); Stanley Turrentine (tenor saxophone); Lee Morgan, Lee Morgan Quintet, Blue Mitchell (trumpet); Bay Perry, Philly Joe Jones, Bay Perry (drums); Eddie McFadden, Grant Green, Kenny Burrell, Thornel Schwartz, Quentin Warren (guitar); George Coleman, Jackie McLean, Lou Donaldson (alto saxophone); Hank Mobley, Ike Quebec, Tina Brooks, Percy France (tenor saxophone); Donald Byrd (trumpet); Curtis Fuller (trombone); Donald Bailey , Grady Tate, Art Blakey (drums); Big John Patton (tambourine); Errol Crusher Bennett (percussion).
Audio Remasterer: Ron McMaster.
Liner Note Author: Bob Blumenthal.
Recording information: Manhattan Towers, New York, NY (02/18/1956-01/03/1986); Small's Paradise, New York, NY (02/18/1956-01/03/1986); The Baby Grand, Wilmington, DE (02/18/1956-01/03/1986); Van Gelder Studios, Hackensack, NJ (02/18/1956-01/03/1986).
Photographer: Francis Wolff.
No jazz artist popularized the Hammond B-3 organ more than Jimmy Smith, and this four-disc set documents some of his finest recorded moments. The collection primarily features sessions from the late 1950s and early 1960s and does an excellent job of representing Smith's wide musical range.
"Groovy Date" is a hard-bop tune featuring stalwarts of that style--drummer Art Blakey, tenor saxophonist Hank Mobley, and trumpeter Donald Byrd. Clocking in at 13 minutes, the song presents each member of the ensemble taking extended solos, and these improvisations develop intriguingly over the course of several choruses. Horace Silver's "The Preacher," on the other hand, is a blues- and gospel-oriented number, with Smith's solo so relaxed that it falls behind the beat. "Back at the Chicken Shack" is a classic Smith composition that epitomizes his approach to soul jazz. Here, Smith's expressive blues riffs are supported by the lolling groove of drummer Donald Bailey and the cool-toned tenor-sax stylings of Stanley Turrentine. For an in-depth presentation of Smith's key recordings, RETROSPECTIVE can't be beat.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Jimmy Smith

Product Info

  • UPC: 724347316524
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)