Nancy Wilson Anthology (2-CD)

Anthology (2-CD)
19 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  32J8C
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: The Right Stuff

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Save Your Love For Me
  • 2.When Did You Leave Heaven?
  • 3.Guess Who I Saw Today
  • 4.Tell Me The Truth
  • 5.How Glad I Am, (You Don't Know)
  • 6.I Want To Be With You
  • 7.Don't Come Running Back To Me
  • 8.Where Does That Leave Me
  • 9.You've Got Your Troubles
  • 10.Uptight (Everything's Alright)
  • 11.Ten Years Of Tears
  • 12.Face It Girl, It's Over
  • 13.Peace Of Mind
  • 14.You'd Better Go
  • 15.Can't Take My Eyes Off You

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Now I'm A Woman
  • 2.Joe
  • 3.I'll Get Along Somehow
  • 4.The Greatest Performance Of My Life
  • 5.Don't Misunderstand
  • 6.We Can Make It Baby
  • 7.Streetrunner
  • 8.You're As Right As Rain
  • 9.All In Love Is Fair
  • 10.Don't Let Me Be Lonely Tonight
  • 11.Come Get To This
  • 12.This Mother's Daughter
  • 13.Love Has Smiled On Us
  • 14.I've Never Been to Me
  • 15.Life, Love And Harmony

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by David Nathan.
Liner Note Author: David Nathan.
Wilson is a vexing artist to summarize with a best-of compilation, due both to her versatility and her prolific discography. This two-set CD concentrates on her pop- and R&B-influenced recordings for Capitol in the 1960s and '70s. While that means that her jazziest and most standard-inclined sides are relatively lightly represented (although not ignored), it does mean that this is the material most likely to be familiar to the general audience. In truth the soul influence is quite light; this is really pop material, not R&B, soul, or rock, even as it might show some traces of those genres (as well as jazz and cabaret). As a whole, this easy-listening soul music was light fare, but Wilson was probably better at it (and certainly more successful at it) than anyone else. The first disc, covering 1962-1970, is the better of the pair, with the big 1964 hit "(You Don't Know) How Glad I Am" and a couple of nice non-LP singles in 1963's bluesy "Tell the Truth" and 1965's "Where Does That Leave Me." Her reading of Stevie Wonder's "Uptight" is actually respectable, and some of her better mid-'60s singles show the influence of New York uptown soul production. The second disc charts the decline of pop-soul as a whole, even if it does lead off with a couple of 1970 Gamble-Huff-affiliated tracks. Much of the rest marks Wilson as one of the mothers of adult contemporary music, which is not the highest badge of honor one can bear. Is this the anthology you should have if you only get one Wilson collection? If your tastes run to pop rather than jazz, it probably is, though it should be cautioned that it's uneven and does not reflect the full scope of her repertoire. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 19 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Nancy Wilson

Product Info

  • UPC: 724352442720
  • Shipping Weight: 0.50/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)