The Beach Boys The Greatest Hits, Volume 2: 21 More Good Vibrations

The Greatest Hits, Volume 2: 21 More Good
48 ratings
Price: $12.14
List Price: $13.49
You Save: $1.35 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  33A8A
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

The Velvet Underground
  • The Velvet Underground Loaded (Fully Loaded Edition) (2-CD Slimline) $23.42
  • The Velvet Underground
  • The Velvet Underground Peel Slowly And See (5-CD)
  • CD Details

    • Released:
    • Originally Released: 1999
    • Label: Capitol


    • 1.In My Room
    • 2.The Warmth Of The Sun
    • 3.Don't Worry, Baby
    • 4.All Summer Long
    • 5.Wendy
    • 6.Little Honda
    • 7.When I Grow Up (To Be A Man)
    • 8.Please Let Me Wonder
    • 9.You're So Good To Me
    • 10.The Little Girl I Once Knew
    • 11.Caroline No
    • 12.Heroes And Villains
    • 13.Wild Honey
    • 14.Darlin'
    • 15.Friends
    • 16.Do It Again
    • 17.Bluebirds Over The Mountain
    • 18.I Can Hear Music
    • 19.Break Away
    • 20.Cottonfields

    Product Description:

    The Beach Boys: Brian Wilson, Carl Wilson, Dennis Wilson, Mike Love, Alan
    Jardine, David Marks, Bruce Johnston.
    Producers: Murry Wilson, Brian Wilson, Carl Wilson, Alan Jardine, Bruve Johnston.
    Compilation producer: Cheryl Pawelski.
    Principally recorded in Hollywood, California between 1963 and 1970. Includes liner notes by Brad Elliot.
    Digitally remastered by Ron McMaster and Andrew Sandoval (June 1999, Capitol Mastering).
    The Beach Boys: Dennis Wilson , Al Jardine, Mike Love , Carl Wilson , Brian Wilson .
    Personnel: The Beach Boys (vocals); Carl Wilson (vocals, background vocals); Al Jardine, Mike Love , Brian Wilson (vocals); Bruce Johnston (background vocals).
    Audio Remasterers: Andrew Sandoval; Ron McMaster.
    Liner Note Author: Brad Elliott.
    Illustrator: Andy Engel.
    Photographer: Bob Barbour.
    Unknown Contributor Roles: Dennis Wilson ; David Marks.
    Not everything here was a hit--some were B-sides, like the all-but-perfect ballad "The Warmth of the Sun," and others, like the brilliant psychedelicization of Ersel Hickey's rockabilly classic "Bluebirds Over the Mountain," were released during the period in which the Beach Boys had lost touch with the counter-cultural zeitgeist (i.e., before their early-'70s comeback). Nevertheless, most everything here is a gem. "Wild Honey" and "Darlin'" are highly credible R&B pastiches proving beyond a shadow of a doubt that the Beach Boys had soul.
    "The Little Girl I Once Knew" is one of Brian Wilson's post-"California Girls" mini-symphonies, a structural marvel with the longest silent pause ever heard on a Top-40 single. "When I Grow Up (To Be a Man)" mates a drop-dead gorgeous melody line and harmonies to a remarkably sophisticated consideration of adolescent angst (eat your heart out, Backstreet Boys). PET SOUNDS capper "Caroline No" may well be the most beautiful love song written in the second half of the 20th century. And "Don't Worry Baby" remains the most poignant song ever written about a crisis of confidence brought on by drag racing--who else would even have thought to write it besides a tortured genius like Brian?

    Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

    Customer Rating:
    Based on 48 ratings.
    Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

    Similar Products

    Product Groupings:
    Get Email Alerts for The Beach Boys

    Product Info

    • UPC: 724352023820
    • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
    • International Shipping: 1 item

    To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
    Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
    Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)