Sandy Denny No More Sad Refrains: The Anthology (2-CD)

No More Sad Refrains: The Anthology (2-CD)
64% OFF
Rating 4.3
18 ratings
Sale Price: $22.48
SUPER SAVINGS: $8.09 Limited Time Only
You Save: $14.39 (64% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  HC8K
on most orders of $50
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Universal I.S.

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 8/4/00, p.87
"...Extends Fairport's seminal folk-rock fusion....spanning a decade of her group and solo work..." - Rating: A
Q - 11/00, pp.123-4
4 stars out of 5 - "...She attaches her voice to generally high-grade material and takes it that little bit higher....this maintains a constant high..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Fotheringay
  • Buy for $0.992.Who Knows Where the Time Goes?
  • Buy for $0.993.Crazy Man Michael
  • Buy for $0.994.Farewell, Farewell
  • Buy for $0.995.Ballad of Easy Rider
  • Buy for $0.996.Nothing More
  • Buy for $0.997.The Sea
  • Buy for $0.998.The Pond and the Stream
  • Buy for $0.999.Banks of the Nile
  • Buy for $0.9910.Late November
  • Buy for $0.9911.John the Gun
  • Buy for $0.9912.Next Time Around
  • Buy for $0.9913.The North Star Grassman and the Ravens
  • Buy for $0.9914.When Will I Be Loved?
  • Buy for $0.9915.Learning the Game
  • Buy for $0.9916.Here in Silence
  • Buy for $0.9917.Man of Iron

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.It'll Take a Long Time
  • Buy for $0.992.The Quiet Joys of Brotherhood
  • Buy for $0.993.Listen, Listen
  • Buy for $0.994.The Lady
  • Buy for $0.995.It Suits Me Well
  • Buy for $0.996.Solo
  • Buy for $0.997.Like an Old Fashioned Waltz
  • Buy for $0.998.Friends
  • Buy for $0.999.Carnival
  • Buy for $0.9910.No End
  • Buy for $0.9911.Stranger to Himself - (previously unreleased, demo version)
  • Buy for $0.9912.One More Chance - (demo version)
  • Buy for $0.9913.For Shame of Doing Wrong
  • Buy for $0.9914.One Way Donkey Ride
  • Buy for $0.9915.I'm a Dreamer
  • Buy for $0.9916.All Our Days
  • Buy for $0.9917.No More Sad Refrains

Product Description:

This collection includes songs from Sandy Denny's solo albums THE NORTH STAR GRASSMAN AND THE RAVENS, SANDY, LIKE AN OLD FASHIONED WALTZ and RENDEZVOUS, as well as tracks by Fairport Convention, Fotheringay and The Bunch, and various rare recordings and demos.
Personnel includes: Sandy Denny (vocals, acoustic guitar, piano); Richard Thompson (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, electric dulcimer, mandolin, accordion, bass); Trevor Lucas (acoustic & electric 6- & 12-string guitars, background vocals); Simon Nichol (vocals, guitar); Ian Matthews (vocals, percussion); Linda Peters Thompson (vocals); Jerry Donahue (guitar, background vocals); Sneaky Pete Kleinow (pedal steel guitar); Dave Swarbrick (mandolin, violin, viola); John "Rabbit" Bundrick (piano, organ, keyboards); Steve Winwood (electric piano, organ); Jean Rossel (keyboards); Tony Reeves, Danny Thompson (bass) Pat Donaldson (bass, backgound vocals); Gerry Conway (drums, background vocals); Timi Donald (drums).
Producers include: Trevor Lucas, John Wood, Peter Elford, Sandy Denny, Richard Thompson.
Compilation producer: Bill Levenson.
Engineers include: John Wood, Jerry Boys, Trevor Lucas.
Recorded between September 1968 & June 1976. Includes liner notes by Clinton Heylin.
Digitally remastered by Jeff Willens (Universal Mastering Studios-East).
Personnel: Sandy Denny (vocals, guitar, piano); Trevor Lucas (vocals, guitar, 12-string guitar); Simon Nicol (vocals, guitar); Ian Matthews (vocals, percussion); Graham Lyle, LadybiRdS, Jess Roden, Ashley Hutchings, Sunny Leslie, Kay Garner, Sue Glover, Clare Torry (vocals); Jerry Donahue (guitar, background vocals); Dave Swarbrick (mandolin, violin, viola); Barry Dransfield (violin, background vocals); Ian Whiteman (flute, piano, organ); John "Rabbit" Bundrick (piano, organ, keyboards); Steve Winwood (electric piano, organ); Jean Roussel (keyboards); Dave Mattacks (drums, congas); Gerry Conway (drums, background vocals); Martin Lamble, Timi Donald (drums); Royston Wood, Linda Peters, Pat Donaldson, Robin Dransfield (background vocals).
Liner Note Author: Clinton Heylin.
Recording information: A&M Studios, Los Angeles, CA, Unites States (09/1968-06/1976); Air Studios, London, England (09/1968-06/1976); Basing Street Studios, London, England (09/1968-06/1976); Byfield Northants (09/1968-06/1976); CBS Studios, London, England (09/1968-06/1976); De Lane Lea Studios, London, England (09/1968-06/1976); Island Studios, Hammersmith, England (09/1968-06/1976); Island Studios, London, England (09/1968-06/1976); Sound techniques, London, England (09/1968-06/1976); The Manor, Oxfordshire, England (09/1968-06/1976).
This anthology is a fitting tribute to the towering artistry of Sandy Denny. Not only was she a heartbreakingly riveting singer, she also composed timeless songs, including the one that closes this two-disc set and lends it its title. These 34 songs are drawn from her work with Fairport Convention, Fotheringay, and her own jeweled solo albums--THE NORTH STAR GRASSMAN & THE RAVENS, SANDY, and LIKE AN OLD FASHIONED WALTZ are all enduring works of grace and beauty.
With the combination of her British Isles heritage and a love for American folk music, Sandy Denny developed a voice of her own fairly early on, first flourishing in Fairport Convention, then starting out on her own in a variety of settings. All of the phases of her 10-year career (she died in 1978) are represented here, making this an essential collection. Two other sets available are the three-disc WHO KNOWS WHERE THE TIME GOES, and THE BEST OF SANDY DENNY, on a single disc.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 18 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Sandy Denny

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 103,292
  • UPC: 731454274722
  • Shipping Weight: 0.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)