James Taylor James Taylor

James Taylor
30 ratings
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  32JWC
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: July 23, 1996
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Capitol

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 4/19/69, p.28
"...Taylor's restrained delivery contributes to the power of his presentation. He lets the melody, lyric, guitar, and voice speak for themselves. He doesn't hit you with anything that isn't absolutely necessary to get the song across..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.117
4 stars out of 5 -- "[D]elightful, melding a trailblazing model of the singer-songwriter's art with an elegant funkiness redolent of country soul."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.90
4 stars out of 5 -- "History has been especially kind to the shuffling folk-funk tunes 'Knocking Round the Zoo' and 'Night Owl'..."


  • 1.Don't Talk Now
  • 2.Something's Wrong
  • 3.Knocking 'Round The Zoo
  • 4.Sunshine Sunshine
  • 5.Taking It In
  • 6.Something In The Way She Moves
  • 7.Carolina In My Mind
  • 8.Brighten Your Night With My Day
  • 9.Night Owl
  • 10.Rainy Day Man
  • 11.Circle Round The Sun
  • 12.The Blues Is Just A Bad Dream

Product Description:

Personnel includes: James Taylor (vocals, guitar, percussion, hand claps); Richard Hewson (conductor); Mick Wayne (guitar); Skaila Kanga (harp); Don Schinn (electric piano, harpsichord, organ); Freddie Redd (organ); Louis Cennamo, Paul McCartney (bass); Bishop O'Brien (drums, percussion); Peter Asher (tamborine, percussion, hand claps, background vocals); Aeolian String Quartet, Amici String Quartet.
Recorded at Trident Studios, London, England from July to October 1968.
Includes liner notes by Steve Kolanjian.
Personnel: James Taylor (vocals, guitar, hand claps, percussion, background vocals); Louis Cennamo (vocals, guitar); Peter Asher (vocals, tambourine, hand claps, percussion, background vocals); Mick Wayne (guitar); Skaila Kanga (harp, harmonica); Richard Hewson (strings, oboe, bassoon); Don Schinn (electric piano, harpsichord, organ, keyboards); Freddie Redd (organ, keyboards); Bishop O'Brien (drums).
Liner Note Author: Steve Kolanjian.
Recording information: Trident Studios, London, England.
Arranger: Richard Hewson.
Though James Taylor wasn't a commercial success until SWEET BABY JAMES made him a star in 1971, one of his finest works is this 1968 debut album. Recorded shortly after Taylor was signed to The Beatles' Apple label by producer Peter Asher, it finds the singer-songwriter brimming with confidence and energy. Featuring elaborate orchestration and even a guest appearance from Paul McCartney, Taylor's debut is more produced than SWEET BABY JAMES.
The ornate arrangements give the album a wonderfully late-'60s sound that perfectly complements Taylor's accomplished acoustic guitar work and warm, assured singing. In addition to containing such strong performances as the bluesy lament "Circle Round The Sun" and the concert favorite "Rainy Day Man," the album features the original high-spirited recordings of such Taylor classics as "Carolina In My Mind" and "Something In The Way She Moves," which are far superior to the more subdued versions that Taylor re-recorded (due to legal problems with Apple) for his greatest hits album in 1975.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 30 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for James Taylor

Product Info

  • UPC: 077779757725
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)