Janet Jackson Janet.

180 ratings
Price: $9.88
List Price: $10.98
You Save: $1.10 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  32JW9
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released: May 17, 1993
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Virgin Records Us

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 5/13/99, p.72
Included in Rolling Stone's "Essential Recordings of the 90's."
Rolling Stone - 6/24/93, p.78
4 Stars - Excellent - "...touches R&B, hip-hop, soul, funk, rock, house, jazz and opera with the singer's pop sensibility....The princess of America's black royal family has announced herself sexually mature and surrendered none of her crown's luster in the process..."
Q - 7/93, p.94
2 Stars - Average - "...There's enough for a string of singles, but as a serious post-rap soul contender it pales next to today's techno-literate 19-year-olds. And as proof of maturity, this 75 minutes of risibly relentless rumpo will probably only fool her brother..."
NME (Magazine) - 5/29/93, p.31
8 - Excellent - "...a bold, slick plaything, this is as good an album as any Jackson has made...."


  • 1.Morning
  • 2.That's The Way Love Goes
  • 3.You Know...
  • 4.You Want This
  • 5.Be A Good Boy...
  • 6.If
  • 7.Back
  • 8.This Time
  • 9.Go On Miss Janet
  • 10.Throb
  • 11.What'll I Do
  • 12.The Lounge
  • 13.Funky Big Band
  • 14.Racism
  • 15.New Agenda
  • 16.Love Pt. 2
  • 17.Because Of Love
  • 18.Wind
  • 19.Again
  • 20.Another Lover
  • 21.Where Are You Now
  • 22.Hold On Baby
  • 23.The Body That Loves You
  • 24.Rain
  • 25.Any Time, Any Place
  • 26.Are You Still Up
  • 27.Sweet Dreams

Product Description:

Personnel: Janet Jackson, Kathleen Battle (vocals); Chuck D (rap vocals); The Flow, Jimmy Jam, Terry Lewis (various instruments, programming); Dave Barry, Frank Stribling (guitar); David Eiland (alto saxophone); Kenneth Holmen (tenor saxophone); Bernie Edstrom, Robert Hallgrimson, Steve Wright, Jeff Gottwig (trumpet); Steven Pikal (trombone); Larry Waddell (Hammond organ); Jimmy Wright (keyboards, background vocals); Mark Haynes (bass,
drum programming); Stokley (drums); Jossie Harris, Tina Landon, Ann Nesby, Jamecia Bennett, Core Cotton, Marie Graham, Jeff Taylor (background vocals); Sounds Of Blackness.
Producers: Jimmy Jam, Terry Lewis, Janet Jackson, Jellybean Johnson.
Recorded at Flyte Tyme Studios, Edina, Minnesota.
Janet Jackson's performance of "That's The Way Love Goes" was nominated for a 1994 Grammy Award as "Best R&B Vocal Performance, Female."
"That's The Way Love Goes" (Janet Jackson/James Harris III/Terry Lewis) won the 1994 Grammy Award for "Best R&B Song."
Personnel: Janet Jackson (vocals, background vocals); Jimmy Jam, Jimmy Wright (vocals, keyboards); Jeff Taylor , Kathleen Battle (vocals); (Ex) Cat Heads, Chuck D (rap vocals); Frank Stribbling, David Barry (guitar); Daria Tedeschi, Mike Solieski, Celine Leathead, Hanley Daws, Tom Kornacker, Mike Sobieski, David Bullock, Carolyn Daws (violin); Alice Preves, Tamas Strasser (viola); David Carr , Dave Karr (flute); Kenneth Holman, Kenny Holmen (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Jeff Gottwig (clarinet, trumpet); Merilee Klemp (oboe); Laura Preves (bassoon); Robert Hallgrimson (alto saxophone, trumpet); David Eiland, David Ciland (alto saxophone); Steve Wright , Bernie Edstrom (trumpet); Steven Pikal (trombone); Stokley Williams (drums); Mark Haynes (programming, drum programming); Core Cotton, Jamecia Bennett, Marie Graham, Ann Nesby (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: David Rideau; Steve Hodge .
Photographer: Patrick Demarchelier.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Diana Ross & the Supremes; Tina Landon; Kool & the Gang; Jossie Harris; James Brown ; The Flow; Jimmy Jam; Stevie Wonder; The Average White Band; The Supremes; Kathleen Battle ; Terry Lewis; Diana Ross.
With JANET, the crown princess of the Jackson family steps out from behind her carefully buffed image to create a sensual new musical persona for herself. Producers Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis play cat and mouse with modern R&B forms by juxtaposing classic Motown samples (the Supremes on "You Want This" and "If") and Jackson 5 harmonies against slamming dance grooves, as echoes of girl group innocence crash head on with Janet's willful sexuality (to particular effect on ballads like "Where Are You Now" and "The Body That Loves You").
Janet Jackson's ambition rises to the level of her talent on a number of JANET's songs. On "This Time" a tender acoustic overture (punctuated by Kathleen Battle's elegant operatic soprano) gives way to a dark dance track and tales of love gone sour, while her moaning hyperventilations on "Throb" would give Donna Summer pause, as Janet imparts a sleek hip-hop aura to the traditional disco groove. Elsewhere JANET mixes and matches different genres with grace and good humor, from the Stax/Volt country funk of "What'll I Do," to the jitterbugging dance lines of "Funky Big Band" and the stand-up-and-be-proud shouts of "New Agenda." JANET backs away ever so slightly from the hard dance grooves that originally cemented her reputation, to focus instead on her emerging depth as a ballad singer and canny pop-diva.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 180 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Janet Jackson

Product Info

  • UPC: 077778782520
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)