Steeleye Span Spanning the Years (2-CD)

Spanning the Years (2-CD)
10 ratings
Price: $25.19
List Price: $27.99
You Save: $2.80 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  32JVW
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: EMI Europe Generic

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.The Blacksmith
  • 2.My Johnny Was a Shoemaker
  • 3.The King
  • 4.Lovely on the Water
  • 5.Marrowbones
  • 6.Rave On
  • 7.Gaudete
  • 8.John Barleycorn
  • 9.Alison Gross
  • 10.Robbery With Violins
  • 11.Rogues in a Nation
  • 12.Cam Ye O'er Frae France
  • 13.Thomas the Rhymer
  • 14.To Know Him Is to Love Him
  • 15.New York Girls
  • 16.Long Lankin
  • 17.Black Jack Davy
  • 18.Hard Times of Old England
  • 19.All Around My Hat
  • 20.London

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Fighting For Strangers
  • 2.The Black Freighter
  • 3.The Victory
  • 4.The False Knight on the Road
  • 5.Rag Doll
  • 6.Let Her Go Down
  • 7.Sails of Silver
  • 8.Gone to America
  • 9.My Love
  • 10.Lady Diamond
  • 11.Blackleg Miner
  • 12.One Misty Moisty Morning
  • 13.The Fox
  • 14.Following Me
  • 15.Tam Lin

Product Description:

Most Steeleye Span compilations are budget-priced collections that cover only a fraction of this long-lived and prolific band's enormous output. 1995's SPANNING THE YEARS is definitely not one of these. This two-disc, 35-track collection covers all of the British folk-rock collective's studio releases from 1970's HARK! THE VILLAGE WAIT to 1989's TEMPTED AND TRIED, along with a generous sampling of previously-released live tracks.
Even this expansive selection isn't enough to do more than hit the highest points--almost all of Steeleye Span's albums are classics of British folk-rock. But the well-chosen list of songs provides a balanced overview of the band's many strengths, from the angelic harmonies of Maddy Prior and Tim Hart and the sterling fiddle playing of Peter Knight to the important contributions of such occasional bandmembers as Ashley Hutchings, Martin Carthy and Gay Woods. There are no rarities or previously-unreleased tracks, but this is a near-perfect introduction these icons of folk-rock.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Steeleye Span

Product Info

  • UPC: 724383223626
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)