Leon Russell Retrospective: The Best of Leon Russell

Retrospective: The Best of Leon Russell
45 ratings
Only 4 copies left
Sale: $14.38
SUPER SAVINGS: $13.07 Limited Time Only
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $2.91 (18% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  32JV2
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 4, 1997
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: The Right Stuff


  • 1.Song For You
  • 2.Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall
  • 3.The Ballad Of Mad Dogs And Englishmen
  • 4.Delta Lady
  • 5.Roll Away The Stone
  • 6.Tight Rope
  • 7.Out in the Woods
  • 8.Shootout On The Plantation
  • 9.Stranger In A Strange Land
  • 10.Hummingbird
  • 11.Lady Blue
  • 12.This Masquerade
  • 13.Back To The Island
  • 14.Magic Mirror
  • 15.Crystal Closet Queen
  • 16.Bluebird
  • 17.Roll In My Sweet Baby's Arms
  • 18.Queen Of The Roller Derby

Product Description:

RETROSPECTIVE was previously released on Shelter Records as BEST OF LEON. RETROSPECTIVE is remastered and contains 6 new tracks.
Personnel includes: Leon Russell, Bill Wyman, Steve Winwood, Eric Clapton, Ringo Starr, J.J. Cale, Pete Drake, Steve Cropper, Jim Horn, Jim Keltner, Jim Gordon, Chris Stainton, Don Preston, Charlie McCoy, Teddy Jack Eddy (aka Gary Busey), Bonnie Bramlett, Clydie King, Merry Clayton, Claudia Lennear, Mary McCreary.
All tracks have been remastered.
Personnel: Leon Russell (vocals, guitar, tenor horn, piano, electric piano, Clavinet, organ, synthesizer, Moog synthesizer, vibraphone, drum machine, percussion); Mary McCreary, Kathi McDonald, Claudia Lennear (vocals); Don Preston (guitar, slide guitar, background vocals); Joey Cooper (guitar, background vocals); Eric Clapton, Jesse Ed Davis (guitar); Steve Cropper (electric guitar, slide guitar, steel guitar); J.J. Cale, Pete Wade, Bobby Manuel (electric guitar); Pete Drake (steel guitar); Charlie McCoy (harmonica); Jim Horn (alto saxophone); Rev. Patrick Henderson (piano, organ, tambourine, background vocals); David Briggs (piano); John Gallie (organ); Chris Stainton (keyboards); Joe Zinkan (upright bass); Carl Radle (electric bass); Harold Bradley (bass guitar); Al Jackson, Jr. (drums, percussion); Jim Keltner, Ringo Starr, Teddy Jack Eddy, Chuck Blackwell , Buddy Harmon (drums); Ambrose Campbell (congas); Clydie King, Phyllis Lindsey, Nawasa Crowder, Merry Clayton, Bonnie Bramlett (background vocals).
Liner Note Author: Bil Carpenter.
Photographer: Jeff Dunas.
Unknown Contributor Role: Billy Sanford.
Arranger: Nick DeCaro.
Retrospective is an 18-track collection that features the bulk of Leon Russell's greatest hits ("Tight Rope," "Roll in My Sweet Baby's Arms," "Lady Blue," "Back to the Island"), plus many key album tracks. Since Russell was primarily an album artist, this approach doesn't necessarily do him justice, but for listeners who only want the hits, this will do. However, the double-disc Gimme Shelter: The Best of Leon Russell is a better, more thorough overview and is the one serious fans should acquire. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 45 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Leon Russell

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 31,568
  • UPC: 724385978524
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)