The Beach Boys Friends/20/20

52 ratings
17 copies available
Price: $12.56
List Price: $13.95
You Save: $1.39 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  32JSK
Brand New

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Capitol

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 6/01, pp.126-7
4 stars out of 5 - "...FRIENDS is 1968's quiet masterpiece and Brian's favorite, while, 20-20 is a hodge-podge which astonishingly revives SMILE's 'Cabinessence'..."


  • 1.Meant For You
  • 2.Friends
  • 3.Wake The World
  • 4.Be Here In The Mornin'
  • 5.When A Man Needs A Woman
  • 6.Passing By
  • 7.The Anna Lee Healer
  • 8.Little Bird
  • 9.Be Still
  • 10.Busy Doin' Nothin'
  • 11.Diamond Head
  • 12.Transcendental Meditation
  • 13.Do It Again
  • 14.I Can Hear Music
  • 15.Bluebirds Over The Mountain
  • 16.Be With Me
  • 17.All I Want To Do
  • 18.The Nearest Faraway Place
  • 19.Cotton Fields (The Cotton Song)
  • 20.I Went To Sleep
  • 21.Time To Get Alone
  • 22.Never Learn Not To Love
  • 23.Our Prayer
  • 24.Cabinessence
  • 25.Break Away
  • 26.Celebrate The News
  • 27.We're Together Again
  • 28.Walk On By
  • 29.Old Folks Home / Ol' Man River

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: FRIENDS (1968)/20-20 (1969).
Includes liner notes by Brian Wilson and David Leaf.
Digitally remastered using HDCD technology.
Personnel: The Beach Boys (vocals); Brian Wilson (vocals).
Audio Mixer: Mark Linett.
Audio Remasterer: Joe Gastwirt.
Liner Note Authors: Diane Rovell; Mark Linett; David Leaf; Brian Wilson .
Recording information: Brian Wilson's Home studio (02/1968-11/1968); Brian's Home Studio (02/1968-11/1968); Capitol Recording Studios (02/1968-11/1968); Capitol Records Studios (02/1968-11/1968); CBS Studios (02/1968-11/1968); Gold Star Recording Studio (02/1968-11/1968); I.D. Sound (02/1968-11/1968); I.D.Sound (02/1968-11/1968); ID Sound (02/1968-11/1968).
Photographer: Brad Benedict.
Utterly ignored at the time of their release, the Beach Boys' final two albums for Capitol Records, 1968's FRIENDS and 1969's 20/20, are now recognized as minor masterpieces. FRIENDS is, in modern terms, the Beach Boys' chill-out album, their first release with none of the R&B-laced rockers preferred by Mike Love. The 12 brief tracks (nearly half of them don't even hit the two-minute mark) are deeply influenced by the group's newfound interest in spirituality, with Dennis Wilson's "Little Bird" and "Be Still" among the peaceful highlights. The two key tracks are "Busy Doin' Nothin'," a peculiar bossa nova with some of Brian Wilson's oddest lyrics, and "Diamond Head," a temporary return to the pictorial soundscapes of SMILE. The more varied 20/20 goes FRIENDS one better by ending with the spine-tingling wordless a cappella exercise "Our Prayer" and the glorious "Cabinessence," two re-recordings of SMILE outtakes. Of the new material, the hit single "Do It Again," the glorious "I Can Hear Music," and Bruce Johnston's instrumental homage to Brian "The Nearest Faraway Place" are the best, and the genuinely spooky "Never Learn Not To Love," Dennis' slightly rewritten cover of "Cease To Exist" by his soon-to-be-infamous buddy Charles Manson, is the most notorious.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 52 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Beach Boys

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 34,843
  • UPC: 724353163822
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Pop / Rock genre:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)