Skillet Lickers Volume 4: 1929-1930

Skillet Lickers, Volume 4: 1929-1930
3 ratings
Price: $17.99
List Price: $19.99
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  DW99
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 5, 2001
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Document


  • 1.Rocky Pallet
  • 2.Soldiers Joy
  • 3.Rock That Cradle Lucy
  • 4.There'll Be a Hot Time in the Old Town Tonight
  • 5.Boneparte's Retreat
  • 6.Hell's Broke Loose in Georgia
  • 7.Giddap Napoleon
  • 8.Cripple Creek
  • 9.Kickapoo Medicine Show Part 1
  • 10.Kickapoo Medicine Show Part 2
  • 11.Night in a Blind Tiger, A Part 1
  • 12.Night in a Blind Tiger, A Part 2
  • 13.Bee Hunt on Hill For Sartin Creek, A Part 1
  • 14.Bee Hunt on Hill For Sartin Creek, A Part 2
  • 15.Leather Britches
  • 16.New Arkansaw Traveller
  • 17.Sugar in the Gourd
  • 18.Georgia Wagner
  • 19.Sal's Gone to the Cider Mill
  • 20.Nigger in the Woodpile
  • 21.Devilish Mary
  • 22.Soldier, Will You Marry Me

Product Description:

Skillet Lickers includes: Gid Tanner (vocals, fiddle); Riley Puckett (guitar); Fate Norris (banjo); Clayton McMichen, Bert Layne (fiddle).
Producer: Johnny Parth.
Compilation producer: Tony Russell.
Includes liner notes by Tony Russell.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Riley Puckett (vocals, guitar); Dan Hornsby (vocals); Fate Norris (banjo); Clayton McMichen, Bert Layne, Lowe Stokes (fiddle).
Liner Note Author: Tony Russell.
Recording information: Atlanta, GA (10/29/1929-04/15/1930).
The Skillet Lickers were a multi-fiddle powerhouse in the 1920s, the old-timey equivalent of a feuding rock & roll supergroup, whose jazz ensemble flash made them arguably the greatest and most exciting string band of all time. Ace fiddlers Gid Tanner, Clayton McMichen, Bert Layne, and one-handed Lowe Stokes were all members, in various combinations. Anchored by Riley Puckett's steady bass runs on guitar, they blazed a path through the dance reels of the day, taking them to soaring heights. Fiddle standards "Soldier's Joy," "Boneparte's Retreat," "Hell's Broke Loose in Georgia," "Cripple Creek," and "Sugar in the Gourd" are all tackled on this collection at break-neck speed. At their best, the Skillet Lickers achieved a kind of wild ensemble joy, breaking through to heaven with tracks like "Rock That Cradle Lucy" or "Sal's Gone to the Cider Mill," both included here. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Skillet Lickers

Product Info

  • UPC: 714298805925
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)