The Hillbillies: Al Hopkins & His Buckle Busters, Volume 2 (1926-27)

The Hillbillies: Al Hopkins & His Buckle Busters,
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Sale: $16.18
SUPER SAVINGS: $15.16 Limited Time Only
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $2.82 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  3684K
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 1, 1999
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Document


  • 1.Buck-Eyed Rabbits
  • 2.Cumberland Gap
  • 3.Sourwood Mountain
  • 4.Ragged Annie
  • 5.Texas Gals
  • 6.Goin' Down the Road Feeling Bad
  • 7.Sally Ann
  • 8.Betsy Brown
  • 9.Kitty Wells
  • 10.Kitty Waltz
  • 11.Donkey on the Railroad Track
  • 12.Blue Ridge Mountain Blues
  • 13.Sweet Bunch of Daisies
  • 14.Daisies Won't Tell
  • 15.Down to the Club
  • 16.Sleep Baby Sleep
  • 17.Black Eyed Suzie
  • 18.Cluck Old Hen
  • 19.The Nine Pound Hammer
  • 20.Whoa, Mule
  • 21.Echoes of the Chimes
  • 22.Boatin' Up Sandy
  • 23.Johnson Boys

Product Description:

Full performer name: The Hillbillies/Al Hopkins & His Buckle Busters.
Personnel includes: Al Hopkins (vocals, piano); Joe Hopkins, Henry Roe (guitar); Charlie Bowman (banjo, fiddle); John Rector (banjo); John Hopkins (ukelele); Elvis Alderman, Fred Roe (fiddle); Elmer Hopkins (harmonica).
Recorded in New York, New York in 1926 & 1927. Includes liner notes by Charles Wolfe.
Digitally remastered by Gerhard Wessely (Soun
Audio Remasterer: Gerhard Wessely.
Liner Note Author: Charles Wolfe.
Recording information: New York, NY (05/12/1927); New York, NY (05/13/1927); New York, NY (05/14/1927); New York, NY (10/22/1926); New York, NY (10/23/1926).
A fairly typical and energetic Appalachian string band from the early 1920s, Al Hopkins & His Bucklebusters made musical history of a sort when they entered a New York studio to record six sides for Ralph Peer and OKeh Records in 1925. Peer opted to name the band the Hillbillies, and the term stuck and was soon being applied to any early country track being issued at the time -- it was, after all, in the parlance of the day, hillbilly music. This is the second volume in Document Records' reissue series of Hopkins and his band's complete recorded history, which lasted from that historic 1925 session through 1928. This installment covers 1926 and 1927, and includes spirited versions of traditional fiddle pieces like "Cumberland Gap," "Goin' Down the Road Feeling Bad," "Donkey on the Railroad Track," and "Boatin' Up Sandy," among others. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 714298804027
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)