Bert Jansch When the Circus Comes to Town

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.7
3 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
List Price: $15.99
Your Price: $14.39
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  PID 849030

CD Details

  • Released: October 17, 1995
  • Label: Cooking Vinyl

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - 4-5/96, p.55
"...a blend of blues, early jazz, and English folk served up through a gruff, world-weary Glasgow voice, backed by the liquid guitar that has long made him one of the U.K.'s best acoustic instrumentalists..."


  • 1.Walk Quietly By
  • 2.Open Road
  • 3.Back Home
  • 4.No One Around
  • 5.Step Back
  • 6.When the Circus Comes to Town
  • 7.Summer Heat
  • 8.Just a Dream
  • 9.The Lady Doctor from Ashington
  • 10.Stealing the Night Away
  • 11.Honey Don't You Understand
  • 12.Born with the Blues
  • 13.Morning Brings Peace of Mind
  • 14.Living in the Shadows

Product Description:

Personnel: Bert Jansch (vocals, guitar, piano); Christine Collister, Jamie Romer, Maggie Boyle (vocals); Mike Piggott (violin); Tony Hinnigan (strings); Mark Ramsden (soprano saxophone); Colin Gibson (bass guitar).
Released in 1995, well over 30 years after Glasgow-born acoustic guitarist Bert Jansch set the British folk and blues scene aflame with his skilled playing and expressive vocals, WHEN THE CIRCUS COMES TO TOWN shows that Jansch was arguably playing better than ever. Through numerous solo albums and a long partnership with fellow guitarist John Renbourn (which included several group albums as the Pentangle, with singer Jacqui McShee and bassist Danny Thompson), Jansch had added American country and jazz influences and a strong undercurrent of Indian and North African drones to his folk and blues-based music. All of these sounds intermingle throughout WHEN THE CIRCUS COMES TO TOWN, so that even a simple blues like "Honey, Don't You Understand" sounds more complex upon closer listening. A deeply satisfying album.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Bert Jansch

Product Info:

  • UPC: 711297109221
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item