Asleep At The Wheel 21 Greatest Hits

21 Greatest Hits
9 ratings
12 copies available
SUPER SAVINGS: $7.79 Limited Time Only
List Price: $8.99
You Save: $1.20 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  32JHD
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Capitol


  • 1.Take Me Back To Tulsa
  • 2.Fat Boy Rag
  • 3.The Letter That Johnny Walker Read
  • 4.Bump Bounce Boogie
  • 5.Nothin' Takes The Place Of You
  • 6.Route 66
  • 7.Miles And Miles Of Texas
  • 8.The Trouble With Loving Today
  • 9.One O'Clock Jump
  • 10.Texas Me And You
  • 11.Choo Choo Ch' Boogie
  • 12.House Of The Blue Lights
  • 13.Keepin' Me Up Nights
  • 14.Corine, Corrina
  • 15.Red Wing
  • 16.Blues For Dixie
  • 17.Smoke! Smoke! Smoke! (That Cigarette)
  • 18.Hightower
  • 19.You Ain't Woman Enough
  • 20.If You See My Baby

Product Description:

Alseep At The Wheel: Ray Benson (vocals, guitar); Leroy Preston (guitar, drums, background vocals); Chris O'Connell (guitar, background vocals);
Lisa Silver (fiddle); Jo-El Sonnier (accordion); Bobby Womack (trumpet); Floyd Domino (keyboards).
Additional personnel includes: Bela Fleck, Brooks & Dunn, Chet Atkins, Vince Gill, Marty Stuart, Lyle Lovett.
Producers include: Tommy Allsup, Asleep At The Wheel, Joel Dorn, Chuck Flood, Ray Benson.
Compilation producer: Gregg Ogorzelec.
Recorded between 1972 & 1995. Includes liner notes by Ray Benson.
Liner Note Author: Ray Benson.
Recording information: Golden Gate Recording, San Francisco, CA (07/13/1972).
Arrangers: Ray Benson; Brooks & Dunn.
While Ray Benson's indefatigable Western swing revival outfit Asleep at the Wheel has recorded for a handful of labels over the course of a career that's spanned four decades (so far), they've cut enough stuff for Capitol and other labels currently under their ownership (United Artists and Liberty) that this compilation, if not definitive, certainly provides a healthy and accurate overview of their career. (Capitol also licensed one track each from the band's Epic and Arista back catalogs for good measure.) Though Asleep at the Wheel has dipped its toes ever so slightly into the country mainstream over the years, Benson and his crew have always stayed true to their love for the vintage sounds of hillbilly boogie, Western swing, and twang-infused blues, and these 20 cuts prove that despite dozens of lineup changes, this group's musical vision has remained consistently strong through the decades, and that both then and now they knew how to keep the sainted spirit of Bob Wills alive and dancing. While the sheer bulk of Asleep at the Wheel's back catalog would suggest that a box set is in order for this band, 20 Greatest Hits shows they started out with the right idea and have yet to lose it, and if it isn't the ideal AATW collection, it's a better-than-average cross section of their music and a pretty good introduction for beginners. ~ Mark Deming

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 9 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Asleep At The Wheel

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 26,067
  • UPC: 724354179129
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Capitol Labels:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)