Benny Goodman The Complete Capitol Trios

The Complete Capitol Trios
10 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $20.86 Limited Time Only
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  FA33
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Blue Note Records


  • 1.Blue (And Broken Hearted)
  • 2.After Hours
  • 3.All I Do Is Dream Of You
  • 4.I'll Never Be The Same
  • 5.Bye Bye Pretty Baby
  • 6.Shoe Shine Boy
  • 7.At Sundown
  • 8.When You're Smiling
  • 9.All I Do Is Dream Of You
  • 10.Stompin' At The Savoy
  • 11.Mean To Me
  • 12.Puttin' On The Ritz
  • 13.I Never Knew
  • 14.Lazy River
  • 15.There'll Be Some Changes Made
  • 16.Ev'rything I've Got (Belongs To You)
  • 17.But Not For Me
  • 18.Margie
  • 19.Rose Room
  • 20.What Can I Say After I Say I'm Sorry

Product Description:

Personnel: Benny Goodman (clarinet); Teddy Wilson, Jimmy Rowles, Mel Powell (piano); Jimmy Crawford, Tom Romersa, Eddie Grady, Bobby Donaldson (drums).
Recorded between 1947 and 1954. Includes liner notes by Richard M. Sudhalter.
Digitally remastered using 24-bit technology by Ron McMaster.
Personnel: Benny Goodman (clarinet); Jimmy Rowles, Teddy Wilson, Mel Powell (piano); Tommy Romersa, Ed Grady, Jimmy Crawford , Bobby Donaldson (drums).
Liner Note Author: Dick Sudhalter.
Recording information: New York, NY (11/07/1947-11/16/1954); Radio Recorders, LA, CA (11/07/1947-11/16/1954); Riverside Plaza Hotel, New York, NY (11/07/1947-11/16/1954).
The Complete Captiol Trios is a long-overdue reissue of the five trio sessions Benny Goodman led for Capitol Records. The five sessions are easily broken down into two categories -- recordings from 1947 and recordings from 1954. The highlights of the 1947 recordings are sessions with pianist Teddy Wilson and drummer Jimmy Crawford. This provided Goodman an opportunity to reunite with Wilson who he had toured with in the late '30s in a trio with drummer Gene Krupa. Goodman and Wilson have a real ease to their interaction and the results are positively joyful. There are three other recordings from 1947, featuring pianist Jimmy Rowles and drummer Tom Romersa; these are good, but not quite as delightful as their 1947 companions. However, the 1954 recordings -- all featuring pianist Mel Powell, four featuring drummer Eddie Grady, and two featuring drummer Bobby Donaldson -- are equally wonderful, filled with good humor, elegant flair, and magical interludes. These sessions have been out of circulation for too long, but The Complete Capitol Trios is so well-done -- and its fidelity is so good -- that the wait was certainly worthwhile. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Benny Goodman

Product Info

  • UPC: 724352122523
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)