Ace of Base Bridge

84 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $18.36 Limited Time Only
List Price: $20.99
You Save: $2.63 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  36828
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Ais

Entertainment Reviews:

Spin - 2/96, p.87
7 - Flawed Yet Worthy - "...the real genius of Ace Of Base lies not with perky singing or mindlessly exuberant rhythm tracks, but with the ability to make melancholy sound so damned appealing....the songs that travel across THE BRIDGE are far more sophisticated than their pop pedigree would suggest..."
Entertainment Weekly - 11/24/95
"Ace Of Base provides the musical equivalent of a Mentos commercial: They're so deeply dorky, you have to love 'em....for sheer candied pop, this is one pleasurable way to rot your teeth."
- Rating: B
Q - 1/96, p.118
3 Stars - Good - "...altogether bigger, deeper, darker, more accomplished effort than its rather half-baked predecessor..."


  • 1.Beautiful Life
  • 2.Never Gonna Say I'm Sorry
  • 3.Lucky Love
  • 4.Edge of Heaven
  • 5.Strange Ways
  • 6.Ravine
  • 7.Perfect World
  • 8.Angel Eyes
  • 9.Whispers In Blindness
  • 10.My Deja Vu
  • 11.You and I
  • 12.Wave Wet Sand
  • 13.Que Sera
  • 14.Just 'n' Image
  • 15.Lucky Love (Acoustic Version)
  • 16.Experience Pearls
  • 17.Blooming 18

Product Description:

THE BRIDGE is another chewy hour of bubblegummy Europop that hews close to the one with which this brother-and-sister act put Sweden back on the international pop map in 1994. No stylistic breakthroughs, no daring rushes to the edge of pop's sphere, no deep personal outpourings--just delectable beats and undeniable hooks that apply thinner to Abba's wall-of-sound disco, and then filter it through the modern dance world of reggae, hip-hop, techno and Madonna.
Besides a couple of forays into Middle Eastern melody and the occasional nod to the Beatles (note the acoustic guitar break in "Lucky Love [Acoustic Version]," the electric version of which shows up only on the European pressing of the album), THE BRIDGE's main pleasure is its off-kilter lyrical musings. "I've got strange ways," Linn Berggren sings in one song, and then goes on to promise her lover that she'll leave him, and she'll return, and she'll leave him again, while techno keyboard blips descend on a disco beat. In the reggae-ish "Never Gonna Say I'm Sorry," which brother Jonas "Joker" Berggren wrote, Linn declares, "I'm happy even if you don't want to invite me out for a dance tonight/I'm not normal, I know it, I don't care." It's also unclear what lines like "lucky love belongs in teenage heaven" are supposed to mean, but Linn and sister Jenny put that one over with a Madonnaesque exuberance that clears it all up: once you're on the dance floor, nothing else matters.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 84 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Ace of Base

Product Info

  • UPC: 4029758112823
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)