Milt Jackson Wizard of The Vibes

Wizard of The Vibes
6 ratings
Price: $15.46
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  F9WK
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Blue Note Records


  • 1.Tahiti
  • 2.Lillie
  • 3.Bags' Groove
  • 4.What's New
  • 5.Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  • 6.On The Scene
  • 7.Lillie (Alternate Take)
  • 8.What's New (Alternate Take)
  • 9.Don't Get Around Much Anymore (Alternate Take)
  • 10.Evidence
  • 11.Misterioso
  • 12.Epistrophy
  • 13.I Mean You
  • 14.Misterioso (Alternate Take)
  • 15.All The Things You Are
  • 16.I Should Care
  • 17.I Should Care (Alternate Take)

Product Description:

Personnel: Milt Jackson (vibraphone); Kenny "Pancho" Hagood (vocals); Lou Donaldson (alto saxophone); John Lewis, Thelonious Monk (piano); Percy Heath, John Simmons (bass); Kenny Clarke, Shadow Wilson (drums).
Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna.
Recorded at Apex Studios and WOR Studios, New York, New York between July 2, 1948 and April 7, 1952. Includes liner notes by Bob Blumenthal.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
This is part of Blue Note Records RUDY VAN GELDER series.
Personnel: Milt Jackson (vibraphone); Kenny "Pancho" Hagood (vocals); Lou Donaldson (alto saxophone); John Richard Lewis, Thelonious Monk (piano); Kenny Clarke, Shadow Wilson (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Rudy Van Gelder.
Liner Note Author: Bob Blumenthal.
Recording information: Apex Studios, New York, NY (07/02/1948/04/07/1952); WOR Studios, New Your City, NY (07/02/1948/04/07/1952).
Photographer: Francis Wolff.
The music on Wizard of the Vibes features Milt Jackson with the Thelonious Monk Quartet in a 1948 session combined with a 1952 date with his bandmates from the Modern Jazz Quartet (at that time including John Lewis, Percy Heath, and Kenny Clarke) along with alto saxophonist Lou Donaldson, who was oddly credited as the leader of the date on the original release, though it clearly seems to be Jackson in charge. The chemistry between Jackson and Monk on classics like "Misterioso," "Evidence," "I Mean You," and "Epistrophy" is immediately apparent, although Kenny "Pancho" Hagood's vocals on the standards "All the Things You Are" and "I Should Care" remain an acquired taste. Jackson introduces three originals on the latter session, including the debut of his highly acclaimed "Bag's Groove," which has long since become one of the most celebrated and popular jazz compositions. Lewis' uncanny musical ESP is evident throughout the session, as he feeds Jackson imaginative lines for his improvisations. Donaldson is enjoyable at times but doesn't always play at a level equal to the rhythm section, resorting to rather run-of-the-mill ideas in some of his improvisations. Milt Jackson's inventive playing throughout both dates makes this an important CD in his considerable discography, so it should be a part of any bop fan's collection. ~ Ken Dryden

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Milt Jackson

Product Info

  • UPC: 724353214029
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)