Wanda Jackson Vintage Collections Series

Vintage Collections Series
22 ratings
Price: $8.98
List Price: $9.98
You Save: $1 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  F9W8
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Capitol


  • 1.I Gotta Know
  • 2.Silver Threads and Golden Needles
  • 3.Hot Dog! That Made Him Mad
  • 4.Riot In Cell Block #9
  • 5.Right Or Wrong
  • 6.I't Doesn't Matter Anymore
  • 7.Kickin' Our Hearts Around
  • 8.Rock Your Baby
  • 9.The Window Up Above
  • 10.Fujiyama Mama
  • 11.Let's Have A Party
  • 12.Why I'm Walkin'
  • 13.Cool Love
  • 14.This Should Go On Forever
  • 15.InThe Middle of A Heartache
  • 16.Mean Mean Man
  • 17.Making Believe
  • 18.Kansas City
  • 19.I May Never Get To Heaven
  • 20.Hard Headed Woman

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Wanda Jackson (vocals); Joe Maphis, Buck Owens, Vernon Sandusky (guitar); Ralph Mooney (pedal steel guitar); Merrill Moore, Big Al Downing (piano).
Producer: Ken Nelson.
Compilation producer: John Johnson.
Includes liner notes by Rich Kienzle.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Wanda Jackson (vocals).
Liner Note Author: Rich Kienzle.
Recording information: 06/08/1956-11/01/1961.
Taken from the years 1956-61, the 20 tracks on this well-annotated budget compilation serve as an excellent introduction to this incendiary and highly influential artist. A true Nashville pioneer, Wanda Jackson was a crossover giant long before the term came into vogue, combining the heartbreaking country classicism of Patsy Cline with the sexy, devil-may-care menace of Elvis--the latter most notably on the rip-snorting "Let's Have A Party" and the otherworldly "Hot Dog! That Made Him Mad."
Blessed with talent, extraordinary good looks and a broad musical palate, Jackson embraced country, pop ballads, rock & roll and rockabilly with equal flair and conviction. Unfortunately, such an eclectic stance didn't score many points with music biz bigwigs in those days, and radio programmers never knew quite what to make of her. Discouraged by the situation, Jackson turned her focus strictly to country, but this quintessential rockabilly kitten had effectively been de-clawed and was never again to regain the amazing artistic edginess to which this simply stunning set serves as testament.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 22 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Rating 5.0 Wanda Jackson Vintage Collection Music Lover: from Acton, ON CA -- January, 30, 2009

Absolutley awesome. Anyone interested in the roots of rock+roll must have this compilation of the first Lady of Rock.

Get Email Alerts for Wanda Jackson

Product Info

  • UPC: 724383618521
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)