Julie London Wild, Cool & Swingin'

Wild, Cool & Swingin'
12 ratings
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  F9VK
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released: June 29, 1999
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Capitol

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 10/99, p.152
3 stars out of 5 - "...a voice like dripping honey that could make anything sound naughty, including, here, the 'Mickey Mouse March'..."


  • 1.Come On-A My House
  • 2.My Heart Belongs To Daddy
  • 3.Girl Talk
  • 4.You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To
  • 5.You're My Thrill
  • 6.Makin' Whoopee
  • 7.Black Coffee
  • 8.Tain't What You Do
  • 9.Blues In The Night
  • 10.Comin' Thro' The Rye
  • 11.Night Life
  • 12.You And The Night And The Music
  • 13.Nice Girls Don't Stay For Breakfast
  • 14.Watermelon Man
  • 15.Go Slow
  • 16.Wives And Lovers
  • 17.I Must Have That Man
  • 18.Let There Be Love
  • 19.Mad About The Boy
  • 20.Daddy
  • 21.Love For Sale
  • 22.Mickey Mouse March

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Julie London (vocals); Gerald Wilson (arranger).
Includes liner notes by R.J. Smith.
Digitally remastered by Bob Norberg (Capitol Recording Studios, Hollywood,
This is part of Capitol's Wild, Cool & Swingin' series.
Audio Remixer: Bob Norberg.
Liner Note Author: R.J. Smith .
Recording information: 1957-1966.
Photographer: Don Miller.
Wild, Cool and Swingin' compiles 22 songs from several of the many albums she made for the Liberty label from 1957 though 1966. Most of the selections link London with obviously good but mostly unidentified studio players, as well as with excellently arranged material that is unencumbered, for the most part, by syrupy string ensemble playing. Her 1960 recording of "Black Coffee" compares well with the slinky Peggy Lee and soulful Carmen McRae versions of this tune. Andre Previn is with her for a very Billy May-like arrangement of "Makin' Whoopee." A fine guitar player is present on "'Tain't What You Do (It's the Way That Cha Do It)," and a sax player sounding much like Plas Johnson sets the tone for a powerful rendition of "Night Life." London is appropriately sensuous on "Come on-A My House" and "My Heart Belongs to Daddy." The vocalist also proves she can get down with the blues on "Watermelon Man," where she is backed by an orchestra led by Gerald Wilson, along with a down and dirty organ. "Daddy" finds her in the company of Jimmy Rowles along with a hot fiddle. Ernie Freeman, who has backed many a singer, is represented on several of the tracks. His ability to write arrangements which enhance the special qualities of the vocalists is evident on such tunes as "Wives and Lovers." Given the songs compiled for this release, it's clear that the producers wanted to show that there is something more to London's warbling than romantic ballads backed with string orchestras, playing stock arrangements. For both Julie London fans as well as those who appreciate good vocals of well-arranged tunes, this album is recommended. ~ Dave Nathan

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Julie London

Product Info

  • UPC: 724352033126
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)