Yma Sumac The Ultimate Yma Sumac Collection

The Ultimate Yma Sumac Collection
18 ratings
Price: $8.98
List Price: $9.98
You Save: $1 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  F9VA
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: The Right Stuff


  • 1.Taita Inty (Virgin Of The Sun God)
  • 2.Najala's Lament
  • 3.Ataypura (High Andes)
  • 4.Bo Mambo
  • 5.Kuyaway (Inca Love Song)
  • 6.Tumpa (Earthquake)
  • 7.Taki Rari
  • 8.Chuncho (The Forest Creatures)
  • 9.Monos (Monkeys)
  • 10.Suray Surita
  • 11.Wanka (The Seven Winds)
  • 12.Negrito Filomeno
  • 13.Huayno
  • 14.Inca Waltz
  • 15.Babalu
  • 16.Wimoweh
  • 17.Xtabay (Lure Of The Unknown Love)
  • 18.La Molina
  • 19.Llora Corazon
  • 20.La Pampa Y La Puna
  • 21.Virgenes Del Sol

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Yma Sumac (vocals); Les Baxter, Moises Vivanco (arranger).
Compilation producers: Tom Cartwright, Alan Eichler, Cheryl Pawelski.
Includes liner notes by Alan Eichler.
Digitally remastered by Odea Murphy (Tower Mastering).
Liner Note Authors: Charles Baker; Virgil Thomson ; Ray Palmer; Cesar Bustamente; Jack Ross; Alan Eichler.
Photographer: Tom Kelley.
Arranger: Mois‚s Vivanco.
Yma Sumac is an outrageous Goddess of the exotic and the unusual. Her music conjures images of an imaginary ancient Peru as filtered through cartoon-like 1950s Hollywood, filled with pagan sacrifices, sun rituals, Amazon headhunters, and her, a high priestess, reigning over the proceedings with that incredible five octave voice.
Yma Sumac was born in the tiny mountain village of Ichocan, Peru to a family allegedly descended from Atahualpa, the last Inca. While in her teens she and Peruvian composer Moises Vivanco began making the music that combined Peruvian folk themes with complex orchestral arrangements over her exotic vocalizations. THE ULTIMATE YMA SUMAC COLLECTION brings together the best tracks from her decade-long recording career for Capitol (which spanned the '50s).
Included in this collection is the eerie "Chuncho (The Forest Creatures)" from her classic INCA TAQUI album where she imitates all the creatures of the rainforest over a hypnotic guitar-based groove, and the exotic standard "Wimoweh," which later became a hit for the Tokens as "The Lion Sleeps Tonight." The collection also includes rare tracks and previously unreleased material, as well as a collectible booklet that has reproductions of all Sumac's album covers and other wonderful photos of her in her Peruvian drag.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.2
Based on 18 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Yma Sumac

Product Info

  • UPC: 724352143429
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)