Thomas Dolby Retrospectacle: Best of Thomas Dolby

Retrospectacle: Best of Thomas Dolby
24 ratings
12 copies available
Price: $8.98
List Price: $9.98
You Save: $1 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  32K8D
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Capitol


  • 1.Europa And The Pirate Twins
  • 2.Urges
  • 3.Leipzig
  • 4.Windpower
  • 5.Airwaves
  • 6.She Blinded Me With Science
  • 7.One Of Our Submarines
  • 8.Screen Kiss
  • 9.Hyperactive!
  • 10.I Scare Myself
  • 11.The Flat Earth
  • 12.Pulp Culture
  • 13.Budapest By Blimp
  • 14.Cruel
  • 15.Close But No Cigar
  • 16.I Love You Goodbye

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Thomas Dolby (vocals, piano, keyboards, synthesizer, wave computer, drum programming, sound effects); Kevin Armstrong (guitar, trumpet, background vocals); Larry Treadwell (guitar); Al Tharp (banjo, background vocals); Tim Kerr (violin); Simon Lloyd (flute, brass); Peter Thoms (trombone); Mike Kapitan (synthesizer, background vocals); Matthew Seligman (bass, fretless bass, Moog bass); Terry Jackson (bass); Justin Hildreth (drums, programming); David Owens (drums); Arno Lucas (congas); Clif Brigden (percussion, programming); Bruce Woolley, Mutt Lange, Leslie Fairbairn, Cynthia Moliere (background vocals).
Producers: Thomas Dolby, Andy Partridge, Tim Friese-Greene, Bill Bottrell.
Engineers: Dan Lacksman.
Recorded between February 1980 and November 1990. Includes liner notes by Giles Smith.
Composers: Cliff Brigden; Thomas Dolby.
Personnel: Thomas Dolby (vocals, piano, keyboards, synthesizer, percussion, electronic percussion, drum programming, background vocals); Laura Creamer (vocals, percussion); Eddi Reader (vocals); Kevin Armstrong (guitar, trumpet, background vocals); Eddie Van Halen, Larry Treadwell (guitar); Al Tharp (banjo, background vocals); Tim Kerr, Simon House (violin); Simon Lloyd (flute, brass); Andy Partridge (harmonica, drums); Wayne Toups (accordion, background vocals); Peter Thoms (trombone); Mike Kapitan (synthesizer); Mark Heyward-Chaplin (bass guitar); Matthew Seligman (fretless bass); Justin Hildreth, David Owens (drums); Arno Lucas (congas); Cliff Brigden (percussion, drum programming); Lesley Fairbairn, Suzanne Malline, Cynthia Moliere, Teresita Alsander, Rose Banks Stone, Wayne Tops, Jill Colucci, Adele Bertei, Les Chappell, Michael Doucet, Miriam Stockley, Robert John, Robert John "Mutt" Lange, Rose Stone, Bruce Woolley (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Alan Douglas; Mike Shipley.
Audio Remasterer: Chris Blair.
Liner Note Author: Giles Smith.
Recording information: Advision, London, England (10/1980-11/1990); AOSIS, London, England (10/1980-11/1990); Brussels, Belgium (10/1980-11/1990); Nomis Stud (10/1980-11/1990); Odyssey, London, England (10/1980-11/1990); Sound Castle, Los Angeles, CA (10/1980-11/1990); Tapestry, London, England (10/1980-11/1990).
Photographers: Andrew Douglas; Jill Furmanovsky.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Matthew Salt; John Marsh .
This 1995 Thomas Dolby compilation is essential for fans of the British synthpop pioneer. It features both the first CD appearances of "Urges" and "Leipzig," songs from a 1981 indie single which were bumped off the second US release of Dolby's debut album in favor of "One of Our Submarines," and the utterly non-representative novelty hit "She Blinded Me with Science."
"Leipzig" in particular is one of Dolby's finest songs, a meditative, wistful reverie that's considerably warmer and more human than is usually found with this style of music. The collection also gets points for including the superior seven-inch mixes of "She Blinded Me with Science" and "Airwaves," while avoiding the inadequate Dolby's Cube side project and most of the disappointing techno-funk experiment Aliens Ate My Buick. RETROSPECTACLE is an excellent overview of Dolby's career.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 24 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Thomas Dolby

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 68,076
  • UPC: 724382764229
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)