Sarah Vaughan With Count Basie And His Orchestra

Sarah Vaughan With Count Basie And His Orchestra
15 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  32K7C
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Blue Note Records

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - 10/96, p.117
"...Although the leader's seat at the piano was filled by Kirk Stuart, Sarah's accompanist at the time, the band still functioned in its most professional mode..."


  • 1.Perdido
  • 2.Lover Man
  • 3.I Cried For You
  • 4.Alone
  • 5.There Are Such Things
  • 6.Mean To Me
  • 7.The Gentleman Is A Dope
  • 8.You Go To My Head
  • 9.Until I Met You
  • 10.You Turned The Tables On Me
  • 11.Little Man (You've Had A Busy Day)
  • 12.Teach Me Tonight
  • 13.If I Were A Bell
  • 14.Until I Met You

Product Description:

Personnel: Sarah Vaughan, Joe Williams (vocals); Frank Foster (arranger, tenor saxophone); Thad Jones (arranger, trumpet); Ernie Wilkins (arranger); Frank Wess (alto & tenor saxophones, flute); Marshall Royal (alto saxophone, clarinet); Billy Mitchell (tenor saxophone); Charlie Fowlkes (baritone saxophone, flute); Sonny Cohn, Joe Newman, Snooky Young (trumpet); Henry Coker, Al Grey, Benny Powell (trombone); Kirk Stuart (piano); Freddie Green (guitar); Eddie Jones (bass); Sonny Payne (drums).
Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna.
Recorded at Capitol Studios, New York, New York in July 1960 and January 1961. Includes liner notes by James Gavin.
Personnel: Count Basie (piano); Sarah Vaughan (vocals); Joe Williams (vocals); Freddie Green (guitar); Frank Wess (flute, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Charlie Fowlkes (flute, baritone saxophone); Marshall Royal (clarinet, alto saxophone); Frank Foster , Billy Mitchell (tenor saxophone); Joe Newman , Snooky Young, Thad Jones, Sonny Cohn (trumpet); Henry Coker, Al Grey, Benny Powell (trombone); Kirk Stuart (piano); Sonny Payne (drums).
Liner Note Author: James Gavin.
Recording information: Capitol Studios, NY (07/1960-01/1961).
Arrangers: Ernie Wilkins; Frank Foster ; Thad Jones.
While this album is misleadingly titled (Count Basie doesn't appear on the record at all--the piano is actually played by Kirk Stuart), it's a brilliant teaming of the Count Basie Orchestra and the legendary Sarah Vaughan. Basie's legacy was largely due to his band leading skills, and he rarely featured himself on record or in concert; to hear the sound and approach that Basie's sidemen use is to hear the musical conception and style of Basie himself.
"Perdido" and "Alone" showcase Sarah Vaughan's incredible range and perfectly controlled vibrato, and "Teach Me Tonight" and "If I Were a Bell" feature Vaughan with Joe Williams, the latter featuring the two singing icons trading lyrics back and forth. Marked by wonderful Thad Jones arrangements, COUNT BASIE AND SARAH VAUGHAN swings hard, and melts the heart.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 15 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Count Basie

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 118,894
  • UPC: 724383724123
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)