Billy Eckstine No Cover, No Minimum (Live)

No Cover, No Minimum (Live)
8 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $13.57
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $0.41 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  32K67
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Blue Note Records


  • 1.Have A Song On Me
  • 2.I've Grown Accustomed To Her Face
  • 3.Lady Luck
  • 4.Lush Life
  • 5.Without A Song
  • 6.Moonlight In Vermont
  • 7.I Want A Little Girl
  • 8.Prelude To A Kiss / I'm Beginning To See The Light
  • 9.Fools Rush In
  • 10.In The Still Of The Night
  • 11.Prisoner Of Love
  • 12.Little Mama
  • 13.I Apologize
  • 14.Till There Was You
  • 15.I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart / I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good) / Do Nothing Till You Hear From
  • 16.Alright, Okay, You Win
  • 17.'Deed I Do
  • 18.It Might As Well Be Spring
  • 19.That's For Me
  • 20.You'll Never Walk Alone
  • 21.Misty

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Billy Eckstine (vocals, trumpet); Charlie McLean, Buddy Balboa (saxophone); Charlie Walp (trumpet); Bucky Manieri (trombone); Bobby Tucker (piano); Buddy Grievey (drums).
Producer: Teddy Reig.
Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna.
Recorded live at the Cloud Nine Lounge of the New Frontier Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada on August 30, 1960. Includes liner notes by Will Friedwald.
Personnel: Billy Eckstine (vocals, trumpet); Buddy Balboa, Charlie McLean (saxophone); Charlie Walp (trumpet); Bucky Manieri (trombone); Bobby Tucker (piano); Buddy Grievey (drums).
Liner Note Author: Will Friedwald.
Recording information: Cloud Nine Lounge of the New Frontier Hotel, Las Vegas,.
Director: Bobby Tucker.
Arranger: Bobby Tucker.
This CD has an unusual cover picture showing Billy Eckstine singing while holding a trumpet. He does indeed take a few short trumpet solos on the well-rounded program, 24 songs (13 previously unissued) performed during one night in Las Vegas. Eckstine, who is backed by an orchestra arranged by his pianist Bobby Tucker, is heard in prime form on a variety of standards. His baritone voice (which was quite influential) straddles the boundary between middle-of-the-road pop and jazz on such numbers as "I've Grown Accustomed to Her Face," "Without a Song," "Prisoner of Love," "I Apologize", "Alright, Okay, You Win" and "'Deed I Do." A good example of his talents. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Billy Eckstine

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 60,439
  • UPC: 077779858323
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)