Jethro Tull Broadsword & The Beast

Broadsword & The Beast
32 ratings
Only 4 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $9.83 Limited Time Only
List Price: $10.99
You Save: $1.16 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  32K2R
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 16, 2015
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Capitol

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.124
4 stars out of 5 - "Thatcherite economics, failing relationships and dodgy estate agents shared vinyl with gentle nostalgia and the paranoid 'Watching Me, Watching You,' yet the overall mood was uplifting."


  • 1.Beastie
  • 2.Clasp
  • 3.Fallen On Hard Times
  • 4.Flying Colours
  • 5.Slow Marching Band
  • 6.Broadsword
  • 7.Pussy Willow
  • 8.Watching Me
  • 9.Seal Driver
  • 10.Cheerio
  • 11.Jack Frost And The Hooded Crow
  • 12.Jack A Lynn
  • 13.Mayhem Maybe
  • 14.Too Many Too
  • 15.Overhang
  • 16.Rhythm In Gold
  • 17.I Am Your Gun
  • 18.Down At The End Of Your Road

Product Description:

Includes eight bonus tracks.
Jethro Tull: Dave Pegg (synthesizer); Gerry Conway, Ian Anderson , Martin Barre, Peter-John Vettese.
Personnel: Ian Anderson (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, flute); Dave Pegg (vocals, mandolin, bass guitar); Peter-John Vettese (vocals, piano, keyboards, synthesizer); Peter Vetesse (vocals, piano, synthesizer); Martin Barre (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Gerry Conway (drums, percussion).
Liner Note Author: Ian Anderson .
Recording information: Maison Rouge Studios, Fulham, London, England.
Illustrator: Ian McCaig.
In the '80s, Jethro Tull was no longer the dominant force on the rock scene they had been throughout much of the previous decade, but the indomitable Ian Anderson continued to make ambitious records based on themes of ages past, even in an era of skinny ties and drum machines. BROADSWORD AND THE BEAST has a marked swords-and-sorcery motif; Anderson is depicted as a winged elfin creature on the cover. Despite such leanings, producer Paul Samwell-Smith--original bassist for the Yardbirds--gives the record a modern gloss, weaving the synthesizer playing of Peter-John Vettesse and the out-sized guitars of Tull stalwart Martin Barre through BROADSWORD's vaguely medieval-sounding romps.
The record is divided into two sides, Beastie and Broadsword. On the songs named for each side, Anderson evokes the spirit of swordplay and dragons, but elsewhere, on songs such "Fallen on Hard Times" he sings of more modern concerns. "Pussy Willow" is perhaps the best distillation of the classic Tull formula, juxtaposing Anderson's gruff but expressive vocals and a strong, insistent melody bolstered by well-placed, crunchy guitar chords.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 32 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Jethro Tull

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 55,962
  • UPC: 724347341120
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Pop / Rock genre:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)