Louis Prima Capitol Collectors Series

Capitol Collectors Series
10% OFF
Rating 4.8
84 ratings
List Price: $13.99
Your Price: $12.59
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  32JYJ
on most orders of $50
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1991
  • Label: Emd Int'l


  • 1.Just A Gigolo / I Ain't Got Nobody
  • 2.Oh Marie
  • 3.Buona Sera
  • 4.Jump, Jive, An' Wail
  • 5.Basin Street Blues / When It's Sleepy Time Down South
  • 6.The Lip
  • 7.Whistle Stop
  • 8.5 Months, 2 Weeks, 2 Days
  • 9.Banana Split For My Baby
  • 10.There'll Be No Next Time
  • 11.The When You're Smiling / Sheik Of Araby
  • 12.Baby, Won't You Please Come Home
  • 13.I've Got The World On A String
  • 14.Pennies From Heaven
  • 15.Angelina / Zooma Zooma
  • 16.Beep! Beep!
  • 17.Embraceable You / I Got It Bad & That Ain't Good
  • 18.Sing, Sing, Sing
  • 19.That Old Black Magic
  • 20.The Music Goes 'Round And Around
  • 21.Hey Boy! Hey, Girl!
  • 22.Lazy River
  • 23.I've Got You Under My Skin
  • 24.You're Just In Love
  • 25.Twist All Night
  • 26.St. Louis Blues

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Louis Prima, Keely Smith (vocals); Sam Butera (vocals, tenor saxophone).
Includes liner notes by Scott Shea and track annotations by Bob Furmanek.
Digitally remastered by Bob Norberg (October 1990, Capitol Recording Studios).
Louis Prima was an innovator without equal. Jump blues/jazz icons Louis Jordan and Slim Gaillard shared Prima's penchant for combining R&B with swing and good humor, but Prima's cross-section of influences is as singular at it is striking. When Prima made his major impact in the pre-rock & roll '50s, it was a downright bizarre experience to see/hear an Italian-American combining blues, swing, pop, R&B and Italian songs in a wild, unfettered style that foreshadowed the arrival of Little Richard and Jerry Lee Lewis.
If you're a newcomer to Prima's work, you'd be hard pressed to find a better introduction than this 26-track compilation that includes his most popular material. With R&B saxman Sam Butera and singer/wife Keely Smith as his foils, Prima was an arresting, original voice in American music, and this collection makes the reasons plain.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 84 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Louis Prima

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 30,677
  • UPC: 077779407224
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item