Lightnin' Hopkins Complete Aladdin Recording (2-CD)

Complete Aladdin Recording (2-CD)
8 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  32JXS
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: 1992
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Capitol

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Katie May
  • 2.Feel So Bad
  • 3.Blues (That Mean Old Twister)
  • 4.I Can't Stay Here In Your Town
  • 5.Can't Do Like You Used To
  • 6.West Coast Blues
  • 7.Short Haired Woman
  • 8.L. A. Blues
  • 9.Big Mama Jump
  • 10.Down Baby
  • 11.Let Me Play With Your Poodle
  • 12.Fast Mail Rambler
  • 13.Thinkin' and Worryin'
  • 14.Can't Get That Woman Off My Mind
  • 15.Woman Woman
  • 16.Picture On The Wall
  • 17.You're Not Goin' To Worry My Life Anymore
  • 18.You're Gonna Miss Me
  • 19.Sugar On My Mind
  • 20.Nightmare Blues
  • 21.Someday Baby
  • 22.Come Back Baby

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Lightnin's Boogie
  • 2.Baby You're Not Going To Make A Fool Out of Me
  • 3.Daddy Will Be Home One Day
  • 4.Moon Rise Blues
  • 5.Howling Wolf
  • 6.Morning Blues
  • 7.Have To Let You Go
  • 8.Mama's Baby Child
  • 9.Mistreated Blues
  • 10.My California
  • 11.Honey Babe
  • 12.So Long
  • 13.See See Rider
  • 14.Unpredictable Woman
  • 15.I Just Don't Care
  • 16.Drinkin' Woman
  • 17.Abilene
  • 18.Shotgun
  • 19.Rollin' and Rollin'
  • 20.Tell It Like It Is
  • 21.Miss Loretta

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Lightnin' Hopkins (vocals, guitar); Wilson "Thunder" Smith (vocals, piano).
Recoded in Los Angeles, California & Houston, Texas in 1946-1948. Includes liner notes by Pete Welding.
Digitally remastered by Ron McMaster (Capitol Recording Studios, Hollywood,
California, September 1991).
Personnel: Lightnin' Hopkins (vocals, guitar, piano).
Liner Note Author: Pete Welding.
Recording information: Commercial Studios, Houston, TX (11/09/1946-02/25/1948); Quinn Studio, Houston, TX (11/09/1946-02/25/1948); Radio Recorders, Hollywood, CA (11/09/1946-02/25/1948); Radio Records, L.A., CA (11/09/1946-02/25/1948).
Photographer: Geoff Spear.
THE COMPLETE ALADDIN RECORDINGS collects all 43 of Lightnin' Hopkins' tracks for Aladdin, a Los Angeles-based label that was the first to record the legendary Texas bluesman. One might be amazed at how fully developed Hopkins' art appears here, until one realizes that he was already 35 years old and a fully developed musician in 1947, when the first of these sessions took place. From the very first cut, the now standard "Katie May," Hopkins' confidence and mastery are apparent throughout this essential two-disc set.
Hopkins recorded four sessions for Aladdin, two with a small ensemble and two later sessions as a solo performer. The ensemble recordings, which fill the first half of the first disc, are raw, gritty, and sensual: in other words, rock & roll for adults. "Short Haired Woman" and "Let Me Play With Your Poodle" are among the highlights. The latter portion of this set features Hopkins alone, a setting that shows off both his guitar prowess and his haunting vocals. "Shotgun" and "Abeline" are among the R&B hits recorded at these sessions. This set is a must for blues devotees. Newcomers to the genre might prefer MOJO HAND, a career retrospective on Rhino Records.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Lightnin' Hopkins

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 52,565
  • UPC: 077779684328
  • Shipping Weight: 0.37/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking titles in the Blues genre:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)