T-Bone Walker Complete Imperial Recording 1950-54 (2-CD)

Complete Imperial Recording 1950-54 (2-CD)
22 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $10.79
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  32JXJ
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: July 23, 1996
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Capitol

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 11/14/91
4.5 Stars - Excellent Plus - "...[For] guitar innovators, Walker wrote the book....catches Walker at his peak...These are timeless performances - there's not a mediocre track in the set..."
Down Beat - 2/92, p.48
5 Stars - Excellent - "..a sampling of Walker's raw and expressive R&B steeped in traditional blues and flavored by swing..."
Living Blues - 1/92-2/92, p.50
"...eloquently indicates the monumental significance of T-Bone Walker's classic period..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Glamour Girl
  • 2.Strollin' With Bone
  • 3.The Sun Went Down
  • 4.You Don't Love Me
  • 5.Travelin' Blues
  • 6.The Hustle Is On
  • 7.Baby Broke My Heart
  • 8.Evil Hearted Woman
  • 9.I Walked Away
  • 10.No Reason
  • 11.Look Me In The Eye
  • 12.Too Lazy
  • 13.Alimony Blues
  • 14.Life Is Too Short
  • 15.You Don't Understand
  • 16.Welcome Blues (Say Pretty Baby)
  • 17.I Get So Weary
  • 18.You Just Wanted To Use Me
  • 19.Tell Me What's The Reason
  • 20.I'm About To Lose My Mind
  • 21.Cold, Cold Feeling
  • 22.News For My Baby
  • 23.Get These Blues Off Me
  • 24.I Got The Blues Again
  • 25.Through With Women
  • 26.Street Walking Woman

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Blues Is A Woman
  • 2.I Got The Blues
  • 3.Here In The Dark
  • 4.Blue Mood
  • 5.Every Time
  • 6.I Miss You Baby
  • 7.Lollie Lou
  • 8.Party Girl
  • 9.Love Is Just A Gamble
  • 10.High Society
  • 11.Long Distance Blues
  • 12.Got No Use For You
  • 13.I'm Still In Love With You
  • 14.Railroad Station Blues
  • 15.Vida Lee
  • 16.My Baby Is Now On My Mind
  • 17.Doin' Time
  • 18.Bye Bye Baby
  • 19.When The Sun Goes Down
  • 20.Pony Tail
  • 21.Wanderin' Heart
  • 22.I'll Always Be In Love With You
  • 23.I'll Understand
  • 24.Hard Way
  • 25.Teen Age Baby
  • 26.Strugglin' Blues

Product Description:

Personnel includes: T-Bone Walker (vocals, guitar); R.S. Rankin, Walter Nelson (guitar); Edward Hale, Wendell Duconge, Lee Gross (alto saxophone); Jim Wynn (tenor & baritone saxophones); Eddie Davis, Maxwell Davis, Lee Allen (tenor saxophone); Herb Hardesty (baritone saxophone); Eddie Hutcherson, Dave Bartholomew, John Lawton (trumpet); Zell Kindred, Marl Young, Willard McDaniel, T.J. Fowler (piano); Buddy Woodson, Billy Hadnott, Frank Fields, Henry Ivory (bass); Robert Sims, Oscar Lee Bradley, Cornelius Coleman, Clarence Stamp (drums).
Recorded in Los Angeles, California, New Orleans, Louisiana and Detroit, Michican between 1950 and 1954. Includes liner notes by Pete Welding.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: T-Bone Walker (vocals, guitar); Tiny Brown, Baby Davis (vocals); R.S. Rankin, Walter Nelson (guitar); Wendell DuConge, Edward Hale, Lee Gross (alto saxophone); Jim Wynn (tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis , Eddie David, Lee Allen, Maxwell Davis (tenor saxophone); Herb Hardesty (baritone saxophone); Dave Bartholomew, Eddie Hutcherson, John Lawton (trumpet); Marl Young, Zell Kindred, T.J. Fowler, Willard McDaniel (piano); Clarence Stamp, Cornelius Coleman, Robert Sims, Oscar Lee Bradley (drums).
Liner Note Author: Pete Welding.
Recording information: Detroit, MI (04/05/1950-06/20/1954); Los Angeles, CA (04/05/1950-06/20/1954); New Orleans, LA (04/05/1950-06/20/1954).
An important (and often underrated) guitarist, T-Bone Walker was a direct influence on B.B. King, Chuck Berry, Jimi Hendrix, and nearly everyone who played the electric guitar in his wake. A pioneer of the fleet, jazzy leads (complete with choppy, syncopated accents, "duck walk" single-note runs, and blazing embellishments) that would come to characterize rock and blues guitar thereafter, Walker's contribution is difficult to overestimate. THE COMPLETE IMPERIAL RECORDINGS is arguably the Walker set to buy since it contains--with the exception of his trailblazing sides for Black and White Records--the bulk of his most important material.
Whether on mid-tempo strollers ("Travelin' Blues"), boogie-woogie numbers ("The Hustle Is On"), smoldering slow blues ("Blues Is a Woman"), or jump blues ("Bye Bye Baby"), Walker and his band infuse traditional 12-bar structures with a keen sense of swing, instrumental interplay, and sophistication. At times, as on the energetic "Strollin' with Bone," the sheer vitality of Walker's performance is palpable, and is very close in feel to the rock & roll (especially where Walker's guitar playing is concerned) that would emerge in subsequent years. This dynamic set of early electric blues captures the music at one of its richest, most definitive turning points.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 22 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
RE: a most enjoyable experience Music Lover: from Southern Utah -- March, 28, 2007

The sweet and smooth T-Bone Walker, excels in these Imperial recordings.
Most tunes are arranged with horns.
A whopping 52 tracks, digitally transferred in clean mono.
Extensive liner notes, dates, and session players, makes this a steal for the price.
Grab one before they disappear.

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for T-Bone Walker

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 64,502
  • UPC: 077779673728
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking titles in the Blues genre:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)