Stan Kenton Cuban Fire!

Cuban Fire!
17 ratings
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  GH3S
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

Maynard Ferguson
  • CD Details

    • Released:
    • Originally Released: 1991
    • Label: Blue Note Records


    • 1.Fuego Cubano
    • 2.El Congo Valiente
    • 3.Recuerdos
    • 4.Quien Sabe
    • 5.La Quera Baila
    • 6.La Suerte De Los Tontos
    • 7.Tres Corazones
    • 8.Malibu Moonlight
    • 9.El Panzon
    • 10.Carnival
    • 11.Wagon
    • 12.Early Hours (Lady Luck)

    Product Description:

    Personnel includes: Stan Kenton (piano); Lennie Neihaus, Gene Baltazar (alto saxophone); Bill Perkins, Lucky Thompson (tenor saxophone); Billy Root, Marvin Holliday (baritone saxophone); Ed Leddy, Sam Noto, Lee Katzman, Phil Gilbert, Al Mattaliano (trumpets); Vinnie Tano (trumpet, flugelhorn); Bob Fitzpatrick, Carl Fontana, Kent Larsen (trombone); Irving Rosenthal, Julius Watikins (French horn); Jay McAllister (tuba); Gene Roland (mellophonium); Ralph Blaze (guitar); Curtis Counce, Pete Chivily (bass); Art Anton, Mel Lewis (drums); Tommy Lopez, George Acevedo (congas); George Laguna (timbales); Roger Mozian (claves); Mario Alvarez (maracas).
    Recorded at Capitol Studios, New York between May 22 & 24, 1956 and Capitol Studios, Los Angeles between September 19 & 21, 1960. Tracks 1-7 are mono, tracks 8-12 are stereo. Includes liner notes by Ted Daryll.
    This CD contains one of the classic Stan Kenton albums, a six-part suite composed and arranged by Johnny Richards. The Kenton orchestra was expanded to 27 pieces for these dates including six percussionists, two French horns and six trumpets. With such soloists as tenor-great Lucky Thompson (on "Fuego Cubano,") trombonist Carl Fontana, altoist Lennie Niehaus, Bill Perkins on tenor and trumpeters Sam Noto and Vinnie Tanno, and plenty of raging ensembles, this is one of Stan Kenton's more memorable concept albums of the 1950s. ~ Scott Yanow

    Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

    Customer Rating:
    Based on 17 ratings.
    Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
    Get Email Alerts for Stan Kenton

    Product Info

    • UPC: 077779626021
    • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
    • International Shipping: 1 item

    To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
    Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
    Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)