Julie London About The Blues

About The Blues
21 ratings
Price: $14.38
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  GGXQ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Blue Note Records


  • 1.Basin Street Blues
  • 2.I Gotta A Right To Sing The Blues
  • 3.Nightingale Can Sing The Blues
  • 4.Get Set For The Blues
  • 5.Invitation To The Blues
  • 6.Bye Bye Blues
  • 7.Meaning Of The Blues
  • 8.About The Blues
  • 9.Sunday Blues
  • 10.The Blues Is All I Ever Had
  • 11.Blues In The Night
  • 12.Bouquet Of Blues
  • 13.Baby, Baby, All The Time
  • 14.Shadow Woman
  • 15.Meaning Of The Blues
  • 16.Dark

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Julie London (vocals); Russ Garcia (arranger, conductor).
Recorded at Radio Recorders, Los Angeles, California in 1956-57. Originally released on Liberty (3043). Includes liner notes by James Gavin
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Liner Note Author: James Gavin.
Recording information: Radio Recorders, Hollywood, CA (1956-1957).
Arranger: Russell Garcia .
Julie London wasn't really a jazz singer, but she possessed a definite jazz feeling and many of her finest albums (such as Julie Is Her Name and Julie...At Home) feature small-group jazz backings. About the Blues was aimed at the 1950s pop market, but it may just be her best orchestral session. Since downbeat torch songs were London's specialty, the album features an excellent selection of nocturnal but classy blues songs that play to her subtle strengths instead of against them. Likewise, Russ Garcia's clever arrangements bleed jazz touches and short solos over the solitary strings and big-band charts. Like June Christy, London usually included a couple of new songs in with a selection of standards, and her husband, Bobby Troup, wrote two excellent numbers for the album. One of them, the emotionally devastating "Meaning of the Blues," is the album's highlight, and was turned into a jazz standard after Miles Davis recorded it the same year for Miles Ahead. ~ Nick Dedina

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 21 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Julie London

Product Info

  • UPC: 724353869526
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)