Herman's Hermits Mrs. Brown, You've Got a Lovely Daughter [Compilation]

Mrs. Brown, You've Got a Lovely Daughter
1 rating
Price: $16.18
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  VCE6
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Repertoire


  • 1.Heartbeat
  • 2.Traveling Light
  • 3.I'll Never Dance Again
  • 4.Walkin' With My Angel
  • 5.Dream On
  • 6.I Wonder
  • 7.For Your Love
  • 8.Don't Try to Hurt Me
  • 9.Tell Me Baby
  • 10.I'm Henry the VIII, I Am
  • 11.The End of the World
  • 12.Mrs. Brown You've Got a Lovely Daughter
  • 13.I'm into Something Good
  • 14.Your Hand in Mine
  • 15.Show Me Girl
  • 16.I Know Why
  • 17.Silhouettes
  • 18.Can't You Hear My Heartbeat
  • 19.Wonderful World
  • 20.Just a Little Bit Better
  • 21.Take Love, Give Love
  • 22.Sea Cruise
  • 23.Mother-In-Law
  • 24.I Understand (Just How You Feel)
  • 25.Thinkin' of You

Product Description:

The quirky pop-rock of Herman's Hermits provided a jaunty experience for '60s music fans. This album originally saw the light of day in the mid 1960s, and is a collection of some of their biggest hits.
CD contains 13 bonus tracks.
Liner Note Author: Mark Brennan .
Repertoire records has sort of confused the issue of Herman's Hermits CDs by releasing this 25-song compilation in 1994 and then, in 2000, re-releasing the soundtrack Mrs. Brown You've Got a Lovely Daughter on CD. To clarify, this is not the soundtrack to the 1968 movie, but a collection of the group's 1964-1965 sides from various singles and EPs. Some of it will surprise listeners who think of Herman's Hermits as the poppiest component of the British Invasion and barely a rock & roll group at all -- regardless of who is actually playing on "Walking With My Baby" or "Dream On," those are as solid as any early album track by the Hollies, and they don't do a bad version of "For Your Love" either; they even make an attempt at a slightly bluesier sound on "I Wonder," though this was clearly not Peter Noone's vocal forte. Keith Hopwood's "Don't Try to Hurt Me" and "Tell Me Baby" are off-the-shelf, generic British Invasion rockers of no particular distinction, pleasant but otherwise undistinguished except perhaps by the unusually ambitious playing on the latter number's guitar break. "I'm Henry VIII I Am," "The End of the World," and the title track are the most familiar songs here, and then come the A- and B-sides of the group's first five singles ("I'm Into Something Good," "Show Me," "Silhouettes," "Wonderful World," etc.) and their debut EP, which includes their version of "Sea Cruise," all perfectly listenable British Invasion rock & roll. The notes give a decent brief history of the group, and a discography is included as well -- the sound is very good, though more recent releases may have the edge for audio quality, if anyone cares about that in this instance. ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Herman's Hermits

Product Info

  • UPC: 4009910442425
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)