Gary Puckett & The Union Gap The Best of Gary Puckett & the Union Gap

The Best of Gary Puckett & the Union Gap
7 ratings
16 copies available
SUPER SAVINGS: $16.04 Limited Time Only
List Price: $17.99
You Save: $1.95 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  GGWW
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 23, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Repertoire


  • 1.Woman, Woman
  • 2.Young Girl
  • 3.Lady Willpower
  • 4.Over You
  • 5.Don't Give in to Him
  • 6.This Girl Is a Woman Now
  • 7.Let's Give Adam & Eve Another Chance
  • 8.I Just Don't Know What to Do With Myself
  • 9.Keep the Customer Satisfied
  • 10.Don't Make Promises
  • 11.I'm Losing You
  • 12.Daylight Stranger
  • 13.If the Day Would Come
  • 14.Could I
  • 15.His Other Woman
  • 16.Beggar
  • 17.No One Really Knows
  • 18.Paindrops
  • 19.Kentucky Woman
  • 20.To Love Somebody
  • 21.Lady Modonna
  • 22.Pleasure of You
  • 23.Give In
  • 24.Can You Tell
  • 25.Every Hour
  • 26.Looking Glass

Product Description:

Gary Puckett & The Union Gap: Gary Puckett (vocals, guitar); Dwight Bement (saxophone); Gary Withem (keyboards); Kerry Chater (bass); Paul Wheatbread (drums).
Producers: Jerry Fuller, Dick Glasser, Richard Perry, Jimmy Bowen.
Compilation producer: Bob Irwin.
Recorded between 1967 & 1971. Includes liner notes by Jaan Uhelszki.
YOUNG GIRL is a concise collection of Gary Puckett & the Union Gap's dramatic, richly orchestrated pop hits. Among the most straight-arrow of '60s pop-rock bands, ensemble was tremendously successful, earning six gold records and consistently placing singles in the upper reaches of the charts. In part, the appeal may have been visual--the band dressed in Union solider uniforms complete with assigned ranks--but it was more likely the swelling, theatrical arrangements and Puckett's emotive singing that won them a significant following.
The band's best-known and highest-charting singles--"Woman, Woman," "Young Girl," and "Lady Willpower"--appear at the beginning of the collection, each lavished with string accompaniment, horn charts, and prominent backing vocals. For Union Gap aficionados, the band's lesser hits, such as "Looking Glass" and "This Girl Is a Woman Now," are also present. Of course, Puckett's dramatic baritone is at the center throughout (note his cover of Burt Bacharach and Hal David's "I Just Don't Know What to Do with Myself"). There's not the slightest trace of '60s counter-cultural stance or guitar feedback on this set of blue-eyed pop, and the collection succeeds wonderfully as a representation of the more mainstream side of the '60s rock fence.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Gary Puckett & The Union Gap

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 23,763
  • UPC: 4009910230824
  • Shipping Weight: 0.14/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)