The Marshall Tucker Band Southern Spirit

Southern Spirit
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  ZRAM 8237
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Beyond Records


  • 1.Stay In The Country
  • 2.Destruction (Confessions Of A Junkie)
  • 3.Ballad Of M.T.B.
  • 4.Chase The Memory
  • 5.County Road
  • 6.Why Can't You Love Me
  • 7.Special Lady
  • 8.No Mercy
  • 9.Love Will
  • 10.And The Hills
  • 11.Modern Day Man
  • 12.Closer Today

Product Description:

The Marshall Tucker Band: Doug Gray (vocals); Stuart Swanlund (guitar, slide guitar, background vocals); Rusty Milner (guitar, background vocals); Jerry Eubanks (flute, saxophone, background vocals); Don Cameron (piano, organ, background vocals); Tim Lawter (bass, background vocals); David Allen (drums).
Additional personnel: Joe Wright (steel guitar); Paul Brown (banjo); J.D. Blackfoot (background vocals).
Following the moderate success of Still Holdin' On, original Marshall Tucker Band members Doug Gray and Jerry Eubanks broke ties with the Nashville studio musicians they had used for a little over a year, and came back home to Spartanburg to hire a fresh new set of musicians who had grown up in the shadow of the Marshall Tucker Band, making the entire band, except for keyboardist Don Cameron, hometown boys. Perhaps familiarity breeds creativity, because Southern Spirit is filled with the good old-fashioned Southern energy and down-home sound that the Tuckers cut their teeth on. All 12 songs were written by the band, including the country and adult contemporary charting "Stay in the Country," penned by bassist Tim Lawter. Other outstanding tracks include Rusty Milner's "Destruction," a heavy electric blues offering, and the harmonizing gospel number that closes the set, "Closer Today," written by Gray. A fine set of musicians coupled with some very pleasing songs make Southern Spirit a very listenable Marshall Tucker Band record. ~ Michael B. Smith

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Marshall Tucker Band

Product Info

  • UPC: 639857823724
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)