Peter Bellamy The Transports [Bonus Track]

The Transports [Bonus Track]
4 ratings
Price: $13.49
List Price: $14.99
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  9FWD
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 26, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Imports

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 12/92, p.144
4 Stars - Excellent - "...In effect a folk opera, it was his best achievement, something to be detailed in any discussion of a folk revival..."


  • 1.Overture
  • 2.The Street Singer: The Ballad of Henry & Susannah, Pt. 1
  • 3.The Father: Us Poor Fellows
  • 4.Ane Carman: The Robber's Song
  • 5.The Street Singer: The Ballad of Henry & Susannah, Pt. 2
  • 6.The Mother: The Leaves in the Woodland
  • 7.The Street Singer: The Ballad of Henry & Susannah, Pt. 3
  • 8.Susannah: I Once Lived in Service
  • 9.The Convict: The Ballad of Norwich Gaol
  • 10.Henry & Susannah: Sweet Loving Friendship
  • 11.The Street Singer: The Ballad of Henry & Susannah, Pt. 4
  • 12.Henry: The Black and Bitter Night
  • 13.The Turnkey: The Humane Turnkey, Pt. 1
  • 14.The Coachman: The Plymouth Mail
  • 15.The Turnkey: The Humane Turnkey, Pt. 2
  • 16.The Transports: The Green Fields of England
  • 17.The Shantyman: Roll Down
  • 18.Henry & Susannah: The Still & Silent Ocean
  • 19.The Street Singer: The Ballad of Henry & Susannah, Pt. 5
  • 20.Dance: The Convicts' Wedding
  • 21.Dance: The Convicts' Wedding

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Peter Bellamy, June Tabor, Martin Carthy, Nic Jones, The Watersons (vocals); Dave Swarbrick (violin); Oliver Brookes (cello); Philippa Davies (flute); Sophia Wilson (oboe).
Recorded in 1977. Includes liner notes by Eric Fowler.
Arrangers: Peter Bellamy; Dolly Collins.
Spine-tingling close harmonies, a compelling storyline, original songs, and a cast of British folk luminaries (Martin Carthy, Nic Jones, June Tabor, and Norma Waterson, to name a few) distinguish Peter Bellamy 's 1977 "ballad opera," the musical presentation of a true story about Australian convicts who meet and fall in love while imprisoned. This classic song cycle has been reissued with an expanded track list and liner notes.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Peter Bellamy

Product Info

  • UPC: 5051078906126
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)