Hank Williams Turn Back The Years: The Essential Hank Williams Collection (3-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Turn Back The Years: The Essential Hank Williams
15% OFF
Rating 5.0
1 rating
List Price: $39.98
Your Price: $33.98
You Save: $6 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (3 Discs)
Item:  MERN 845392

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: October 10, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Mercury Nashville

Description by OLDIES.com:

Instead of dropping another greatest-hits anthology or an unsurprising set of leftover rarities, Turn Back the Years: The Essential Hank Williams Collection, draws together 60 remarkable songs, surveyed by noted Hank Williams authority, Colin Escott, the way a museum curator would, gathering contrasting perspectives on the major themes - Love, God, and The Pursuit of Happiness - that have always rambled through Hank's work. The resulting three-disc collection doesn't replace the excellent 2002 career overview Hank Williams: The Ultimate Collection. Turn Back the Years is less a comprehensive summation of his work than an examination of the forces that shaped and ruled Hank's short and troubled life.

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - No. 845, p.75
"...[T]his sequencing might make serious students hear new things in each catch-and-moan bray of misery--like the pre-Elvis roots of rock & roll." - Grade: A-

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Honky Tonkin'
  • 2.Rockin' Chair Money
  • 3.I'm A Long Gone Daddy
  • 4.I've Been Down That Road Before
  • 5.Moanin' The Blues
  • 6.(I Heard That) Lonesome Whistle
  • 7.Rootie Tootie
  • 8.You Better Keep It On Your Mind
  • 9.Settin' The Woods On Fire
  • 10.Wearin' Out Your Walkin' Shoes
  • 11.Too Many Parties And Too Many Pals
  • 12.Ramblin' Man
  • 13.Tennessee Border
  • 14.Howlin' At The Moon
  • 15.Move It On Over
  • 16.Hey, Good Lookin'
  • 17.Leave Me Along With The Blues
  • 18.Lost Highway
  • 19.Honky Tonk Blues
  • 20.There's A Tear In My Beer

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Lovesick Blues
  • 2.Wedding Bells
  • 3.Mansion On The Hill
  • 4.I'm Free At Last
  • 5.My Love For You (Has Turned To Hate)
  • 6.Your Cheatin' Heart
  • 7.First Year Blues
  • 8.On The Banks Of The Old Pontchartrain
  • 9.May You Never Be Alone
  • 10.House WIthout Love
  • 11.They'll Never Take Her Love From Me
  • 12.I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
  • 13.Let's Turn Back The Years
  • 14.I'm So Tired Of It All
  • 15.Cold, Cold Heart
  • 16.You Win Again
  • 17.Please Make Up Your Mind
  • 18.Fool About You
  • 19.Weary Blues From Waiting
  • 20.I Can't Escape From You

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.I Saw The Light
  • 2.Thy Burdens Are Greater Than Mine
  • 3.Calling You
  • 4.Wealth Won't Save Your Soul
  • 5.The Pale Horse And His Rider
  • 6.Beyond The Sunset
  • 7.Are You Walkin' And A Talkin' For The Lord?
  • 8.Let The Spirit Descend
  • 9.The Battle Of Armageddon
  • 10.Alone And Forsaken
  • 11.Drifting Too Far From The Shore
  • 12.House Of Gold
  • 13.Where The Soul Of Man Never Dies
  • 14.How Can You Refuse Him Now?
  • 15.Tramp On The Street
  • 16.Lost On The River
  • 17.When God Dips His Love In My Heart
  • 18.Neath A Cold Gray Tomb Of Stone
  • 19.I'll Have A New Body (I'll Have A New Life)
  • 20.Angel Of Death

Product Description:

Personnel: Hank Williams; Don Helms, Lum York, Tommy Bishop, Cedric Rainwater, Jerry Rivers, Jimmy Day, Red Foley, Audrey Williams, Big Bill Lister, Samuel K. "Sammy" Pruett, Red Todd, Joe Pennington, Sonny Norred.
While there are dozens of Hank Williams anthologies on the market, only a handful of these approach the quality and consistency of 2005's TURN BACK THE YEARS: THE ESSENTIAL HANK WILLIAMS COLLECTION. Rather than following a strictly chronological order, this Mercury Nashville three-disc set arranges its 60 tunes into thematic CDs that cover the range of the country legend's brief recording career, from 1946 to 1952.
The first disc focuses on the freewheeling, hard-drinking side of Williams, presenting tunes such as the rollicking "Move It on Over," the caddish "Hey, Good Lookin'," and the rambling "Lost Highway." While the second disc features songs of heartbreak and loneliness (the timeless tale of infidelity "Your Cheatin' Heart" and the woe-is-me classic "I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry"), the third disc sets its sights on spiritual tunes both redemptive ("I Saw the Light") and bleak ("Angel of Death"). Every song on TURN BACK THE YEARS showcases Williams's charismatic vocals and spare, twangy arrangements, reinforcing exactly why he is revered as the reigning country icon of the first half of the 20th century.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Hank Williams

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 98,799
  • UPC: 602498845394
  • Shipping Weight: 0.41/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items