Bert Jansch Dazzling Stranger Anthology (2-CD)

Dazzling Stranger Anthology (2-CD)
Price: $20.68
List Price: $22.98
You Save: $2.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  32Q2K
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: sanctuary uk


  • 1.Strolling Down The Highway
  • 2.Angie
  • 3.Running From Home
  • 4.Needle of Death
  • 5.It Don't Bother Me
  • 6.Lucky Thirteen
  • 7.Blackwaterslide
  • 8.The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
  • 9.Soho
  • 10.Rabbit Run
  • 11.Woe Is Love My Dear
  • 12.Bells
  • 13.Wishing Well
  • 14.Poison
  • 15.I Am Lonely
  • 16.Train Song
  • 17.Nobody's Bar
  • 18.The January Man
  • 19.Reynardine
  • 20.Rosemary Lane
  • 21.When I Get Home
  • 22.Oh My Father
  • 23.Fresh As A Sweet Sunday Morning
  • 24.Lost and Gone
  • 25.The Blacksmith
  • 26.Chambertin
  • 27.You Are My Sunshine
  • 28.Blues Run The Game
  • 29.One To A Hundred
  • 30.Sweet Mother Earth
  • 31.Where Did My Life Go
  • 32.Blackbird In The Morning
  • 33.Playing The Game
  • 34.Is It Real?
  • 35.Lady Fair
  • 36.The Old Routine
  • 37.Three Dreamers
  • 38.The Ornament Tree
  • 39.Summer Heat
  • 40.Morning Brings Peace of Mind
  • 41.Carnival
  • 42.Toy Balloon (For Little Anna Rebecca)
  • 43.Looking For Love
  • 44.October Song

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Bert Jansch (vocals, electric guitar); Gary Boyle (bass); Tony Visconti (drums).
Producers include: Danny Thompson, Bill Leader, Shel Talmy, Michael Klein, Nathan Joseph.
Recorded between 1965 & 2000. Includes liner notes by Colin Harper.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Bert Jansch (vocals, guitar, piano).
British guitar legend Bert Jansch has done far more constructive work (and certainly less damage) regarding authentic roots music than his fellow countryman Eric Clapton has, but tragically Jansch's works go relatively unnoticed, except for a fraction of the guitar-appreciating populace. Hopefully, Castle Music's anthology Dazzling Stranger can help to change that fact. Forty-two songs spread over two CDs tell the folk guitarist's story in chronological order from his Transatlantic recordings in 1964 through his home recordings in 2000, with an emphasis on his late-'60s and early-'70s works. His angular, interlacing fingerpicking influenced Neil Young, Nick Drake, and Jimmy Page (who included a version of Jansch's "Blackwaterslide" on Led Zeppelin's 1969 debut), and his fiery work with Pentangle are both represented here, as are his introspective and dark solo works and his slightly sunnier contemporary songs. His voice has maintained its unique, off-kilter qualities and possibly gotten richer with age, making his later recordings as enjoyable as his early ones. For anyone who has memorized the Nick Drake catalog, Dazzling Stranger is a necessary next purchase. ~ Zac Johnson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Bert Jansch

Product Info

  • UPC: 5050159100927
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)