Blodwyn Pig Ahead Rings Out [Bonus Tracks]

Ahead Rings Out [Bonus Tracks]
11 ratings
Price: $11.69
List Price: $12.99
You Save: $1.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  9FSV
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: EMI Europe Generic


  • 1.It's Only Love
  • 2.Dear Jill
  • 3.Sing Me a Song That I Know
  • 4.Modern Alchemist
  • 5.Up & Coming
  • 6.Leave It With Me
  • 7.Change Song
  • 8.See My Way
  • 9.Ain't Ya Comin' Home, Babe?
  • 10.Sweet Caroline
  • 11.Walk on the Water
  • 12.Summer Day
  • 13.Same Old Story
  • 14.Slow Down
  • 15.Meanie Mornay
  • 16.Backwash

Product Description:

Blodwyn Pig includes: Mick Abrahams (vocals, guitar); Jack Lancaster (violin, flute, saxophone); Andy Pyle (bass); Ron Berg (drums).
Recorded at Morgan Studios, London, England in 1969. Includes liner notes by Mick Abrahams.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Mick Abrahams (vocals, guitar); Jack Lancaster (violin, flute, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Andy Pyle (electric bass, 6-string bass); Ron Berg (drums).
Liner Note Author: Mick Abrahams.
Recording information: Morgan Studios, London, England (1969).
Photographer: Brian Ward .
None of Jethro Tull's progressive rock tendencies or classical influences followed Mick Abrahams into his creation of Blodwyn Pig, even with the inclusion Jack Lancaster's sax- and flute-playing prowess. Instead, Abrahams built up a sturdy British blues-rock sound and used Lancaster's horn work to add some fire to the band's jazzy repertoire. Ahead Rings Out is a stellar concoction of gritty yet flamboyant blues-rock tunes and open-ended jazz centered around Mick Abrahams' cool-handed guitar playing, but it's the nonstop infusion of the other styles that makes the album such a solid listen. After only one album with Jethro Tull, Abrahams left to form this band, and it's evident that he had a lot of pent-up energy inside him when he recorded each of the album's tracks. With a barrage of electrifying rhythms and fleeting saxophone and woodwind excursions, cuts like "Sing Me a Song That I Know," "Up and Coming," and "Backwash" whip up highly energetic sprees of rock and blues. Most of the tracks have a hearty shot of rock up the middle, but in cuts like "The Change Song" and "Backwash," the explosive riffs are accompanied by a big band style of enthusiasm, adding even more depth to the material. Andy Pyle's bass playing is definitely distinct throughout each track and is used for anything but a steady background, while labeling Ron Berg's drumming as freewheeling and intemperate would be an understatement. It's apparent that Blodwyn Pig's style is indeed distinct, releasing a liberated and devil-may-care intensity while still managing to stay on track, but the fact that each cut convokes a different type of instrumental spiritedness is where the album really gains its reputation. Wonderfully busy and even a tad motley in some places, Ahead Rings Out shows off the power and vitality that can be channeled by combining a number of classic styles without sounding pretentious or overly inflated. A year later, Blodwyn Pig recorded Getting to This before Abrahams left the band, and although it's a solid effort, it falls just a smidgen short of Ahead Rings Out's bluesy dynamism. ~ Mike DeGagne

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Blodwyn Pig

Product Info

  • UPC: 094635768527
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)