The Albion Band Songs From the Shows 1 & 2

Songs From the Shows 1 & 2
Price: $35.99
List Price: $39.99
You Save: $4 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  AXC9
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: August 27, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Road Goes on Forever

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Here We Come A - Wassailing
  • 2.While Shepherd's Watched
  • 3.Ashley Reads 'Charles Dickens'
  • 4.Rudolph Blues
  • 5.Run Rudolph Run
  • 6.Phil Reads from 'Under The Greenwood Tree'
  • 7.Broom Dance
  • 8.Cathy Reads 'and Death Shall Have No Domain'
  • 9.In The Cross of Christ
  • 10.Tramp On The Street
  • 11.Lamb of God
  • 12.Sweet Themmes Run Softly
  • 13.Poor Old Horse
  • 14.Howard Reads from 'Three Men In A Boat'
  • 15.Simon (As A Swan) Recites A Poem By Spike Milligan
  • 16.Swan - Upping Song
  • 17.Lemady / Arise and Pick A Posy
  • 18.Foxy Comes To Town
  • 19.Dominion of The Sword
  • 20.When The Fighting Is Over

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Rumor Hill
  • 2.Bells of Paradise
  • 3.Cathy Lesurf Introducing a John Clare Power Read By Ashley
  • 4.Snow Falls
  • 5.Key To The North
  • 6.Life On The River
  • 7.The Sheep Shearing Song
  • 8.The Building of Our Bridge
  • 9.Twickenham Ferry
  • 10.Letters
  • 11.Horse Music
  • 12.Burning The Clavie
  • 13.Speed The Plough
  • 14.All In The Morning
  • 15.Judas
  • 16.Jesus and Shall It Ever Be
  • 17.Poor Old Man
  • 18.The Wastelands of England
  • 19.Big Yellow Taxi / New Jerusalem
  • 20.Wayfaring Stranger
  • 21.Dragonfly
  • 22.Haxey Hood Game / Estampie

Product Description:

2007 digitally remastered 2 CD set that combines both of the individual albums together in one package. It's 42 tracks of both concert & studio recordings from a variety of sources: TV shows (1977's "Here We Come A-Wassailing" and 1988's "The Wild Side of Town"), stage shows ("The Albion Band Christmas Shows" from 1984-1986, and "Lark Rise", an adaptation of Flora Thompson's "Lark Rise to Candleford"), radio (1978's "Albion River Hymn"), studio recordings ("An Easter Garland" from 1984/85) and a film (1989's "Key to the North"), "Songs from the Shows" includes material from the period 1977-1989, performed by a bewildering number of line-ups of the Band, all led by the John Mayall of British folk/rock, Ashley Hutchings. Other noted musician appearances include are Fairport Convention's Simon Nicol & Ric Sanders, Michael Gregory, John Tams, Graeme Taylor, Phil Beer (Show of Hands) and singing icons Cathy Lesurf and June Tabor.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Albion Band

Product Info

  • UPC: 5022539200626
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)